Coconut-Curry Lentil Stew Served over Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Excellent base recipe. Made it exactly as it said. A bit bland overall, but very tasty, all organic ingredients, everything meshed well between them. Suggest a bit of tamari over the top and a couple of cayenne chili's to heat it up. Lime added to the cilantro makes this dish incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyesDeLaSea
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Great meal. I follow the recipe with a few exceptions. I couldnt find the coconut powder as well, so i used 1.5 tsp of coconut flavoring and about 1/4 a cup of medium shaved coconut shavings I found in the bulk section in whole foods. I also add about 1/2 c more water to the lentils as they were cooking. Lastly, I added 3/4 lbs of shredded chicken. Served over Quinoa. This is a great recipe. Look forward to making it again. I will take the suggestion and add 2 tbl of ginger and add some peppers as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I thought this was delicious! I felt good about eating it seeing that all the ingredients are so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This recipie is a modification of a traditional Ty curry calleda Masaman Curry. It was pretty good, but I made a few modifications. I used Adzuki Beans instead of Lentils which is a traditional Japaneese bean. I skipped the Coconut Powder, and added Eggplant and Yellow bell Peppers. I also changed the main spice to Garam Masila instead of Curry, added Mint, and more Cinnamon, as well as a touch of Lime juice. In addition I made the Quinoa with Vegetable Broth, and a bit of the broth from the curry. It turned out good, but a bit bland, and I think I used a little too much Cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I use this site all the time and this is the first recipe that was so good I had to put in a review for the first time. My husband and I have been talking about it all week and we already want to make it again. I didn't use the coconut powder and it turned out perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I added some Curry paste and some more curry powder.. Also added some Red and Orange peppers to bump up the Vegetable content. Excellent meal...Vegan to boot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This was good - and I will definitely make again - but with some tweaks... We found the tablespoon of salt too much for the quinoa - so would definitely reduce that. Also, the lentils took much longer to cook - and required more liquid. But all in all a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
It tasted good a first, but by the end we felt bloated and a bit ill. There is too much spice in this, not hot, but just too much, especially the Coriander. Maybe a couple of teaspoons would have been ok. We all ended up feeling sick into the next day after eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was a great recipe. The family loved it, even my daughter who is very picky. I did change some things like I added some veggies and tofu. I did not have a cinnamon stick so I use grounded cinnamon. I used stewed tomatoes. We just ate it plain without Quinoa. This was great. This goes on the list to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
We love this! My husband and I are not vegitarians - and we LOVE this! The soft curry flavor fills every recess of the mouth with yum! We had no idea what coconut powder was, so we just used unsweetened shredded coconut. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States