Coconut-Curry Lentil Stew Served over Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made some mistakes, but it was still great! I substituted green lentils, then accidentally used the whole bag instead of two cups. I was suspicious that the lentils would not cook in 15 minutes, and they didn't. It took the lentils 40-45 minutes to get tender, and I had to keep adding hot water, diluting the flavors, so then I added more curry and coriander as well. Next time, I will pre-cook, or maybe, even pre-soak the lentils - even though I know you are not supposed to have to pre-soak them. I plan to buy more coconut milk to mix with the batch of lentils I have then freeze some of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Love the flavor used regular lentils and it took so incredibly long, like hours for the lentils to soften. ANd I added so much more liquid than the recipe called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Instead of lentils I used black beans- instead of fresh I used canned tomatoes- didn't use coconut powder - added carrots and spinach- still turned out really flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This was very easy to make. Needs longer cooking time and about 3 times as much water if using regular brown lentils. Because of the amounts of spices it tasted a little bitter and dry. I tried to solve that problem first by adding brown sugar which helped a little. Then lemon juice from half a lemon, better. Finally added most of a jar of tomato paste. That was the winning ingredient. Made it bright and yummy. After dinner we went for an hour long walk. Took a bite of the leftovers and they were way better. The flavors needed time to blend and the sauce thickened. Would be worth making ahead of time. Will definitely make again. Used one can of tomatoes next time may use two! Who knew I had already made this before. I guess I totally forgot. This time I liked it better. Here's what accounts for that: used the red lentils rather than brown, used really high quality curry powder. Topped with toasted unsweetened coconut, cilantro and toasted cashews. Still needed the tomato paste and would be better with lemon (I see I tried that last time). Funny I totally forgot this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was fabulous. I didn't really change anything except omitting the coconut powder (didn't have any) and I used a large can of diced tomatoes. I'm pretty sure you don't need the coconut oil either, olive or canola or whatever you have on hand would probably work. My husband ate his with hot chili sauce and I had mine with fresh lime juice. A little really does go a long way- it's filling! We both loved it. Even cut to half this recipe made quite a bit; I hope it freezes well! Thanks Lindsay, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I made this tonight after seeing the recipe featured on Facebook- I've been so excited to try it! Some changes I made were- sub'd 1 can fire roasted tomatoes and 1 can regular diced tomatoes (with juices), I used coconut Flour instead of powder, and added in some ground cinnamon in addition to the stick. I omitted the cilantro since I didn't have any on hand. All in all- this turned out well. I did run a teeny bit short on Curry powder- and it was definitely lacking in "spice" at the end of cooking (yes- it was BLAND! Gasp!) , so I added a generous amount of Tandoori spice and WOW- definitely kicked it up a notch and satisfied the spice craving! Haha. My lentils never really got soft, even after extra cooking time, and due to this I feel they really overwhelmed the dish. Next time I will use about 1/2 the lentils this calls for. I also grilled about 3 chicken breasts and hand-shredded them into the stew since we do like our meat. :) I agree with previous posters that this would be really good over brown rice, but the quinoa was a nice touch. *Note- this makes A LOT of food!! For just 2 of us, I easily could have used only 1/4 of the recipe and still had leftovers so just be aware! This was really good and I do intend to make it again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCalRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
My husband's new favourite lentil recipe. I took the advice and used canned tomatoes and chicken stock for the water, garam masala was the best spice choice! Thanks Lindsay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Delicious. I just wanted to keep eating and eating! And definitely tastes even better the next day... yum!!! A note about cooking lentils: adding salt to your lentils before they have finished cooking causes them to harden and take much longer to cook. This could be why some people have had trouble with their lentils taking so long...mine were done in about 25 minutes. Skimming the other reviews, I added bell peppers, chopped fresh ginger, double the molasses (I like sweet curry), and half the coriander. Adding cashews while serving gave it a fantastic nutty, crunchy, occasional burst of salty goodness. I think it's safe to say you'll need to double both the water/broth AND the coconut milk in the curry...at least I definitely had to...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Wow, this was my maiden voyage using quinoa and I was very impressed! I basically followed the recipe, but I didn't have coconut oil so I just used olive oil which worked just fine. I only used one cup of quinoa as per other's suggestions and instead of so many tomatoes, I used a large can of crushed tomatoes, as well as half a fresh one. I also didn't have molasses or coconut powder so just omitted those. Instead of water, I added a cup of chicken broth (so I guess this wasn't a meatless dish afterall!) In addition to the curry powder I also added a couple teaspoons of garam masala and instead of cinnamon stick I instead used ground cinnamon. I used a large can of lentils, but not red ones. When it was cooked I thought it was lacking a little substance so added some frozen carrots, corn and green beans, and believe it or not, it worked! So delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Kurtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is definitely easy to make. It was good, but I found the coriander to be a little overwhelming. I could barely taste the coconut or curry through it. Next time, I'll try just 1 teaspoon coriander to let the other flavors shine through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States