Coconut-Curry Lentil Stew Served over Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is definitely easy to make. It was good, but I found the coriander to be a little overwhelming. I could barely taste the coconut or curry through it. Next time, I'll try just 1 teaspoon coriander to let the other flavors shine through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Great recipe...coconut powder can be found at Asian grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made this on a camping trip - prechopped all of the veggies (and added in leeks because we happened to have a bunch sitting in the fridge) and pre-measured out all of the seasonings into one little container. Also used couscous instead of quinoa for faster cooking and less camp fuel useage. This was a HUGE hit with everyone and fed 6 hungry campers with everyone getting their fill. I used ground cinnamon b/c I didn't have stick - just eyeballed that, and 2 cans of diced tomatos with chiles b/c bringing fresh tomatos camping just doesn't work. Economical to make and seriously, everyone raved about it. And I'm not even a good cook. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Delicious! This recipe was a bit more work than I'm used to, but well worth it. I was unable to find coconut powder so I substituted unsweetened organic shredded coconut. My husband and I both loved it and will make this one of our favs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Very delicious! I added in 2 chopped sweet potatoes, and a few cloves of minced garlic. I will only add one cup of lentils next time, as it had no liquid left (I had to keep adding liquid). It may have been because I didn't use red lentils (which cook faster than regular lentils). Anyway, this is an awesome recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffinmaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This is a great dish! I never would have thought that pairing lentils and quinoa would be good, but it's a very hearty dish, you don't need much to fill yourself up. I did make some modifications. A tbsp of salt in the quinoa is WAY too much...don't use any. I used powdered cinnamon instead of a stick, eliminated powdered coconut and molasses, because I didn't have any and didn't want to spend the money on it. I also added a little chili powder for a bit of spiciness. The only problem I had was that it takes WAY longer than 10-15 min. for lentils to cook to the point where they're not hard. It took 35-40 min. and an extra cup of water. I used regular lentils...I don't know if they cook differently than red lentils. Otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Used stewed tomatoes and olive oil as substitutes. Added tomato sauce to cut down the sweetness of the coconut milk. Hubby loved it and it paired well with the quinoa...a nice change from the standard rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I used canned lentils, so I omitted the water. I added the lentils at the end, when the stew was the thickness I like. I added dark brown sugar instead of molasses. I blended shredded coconut to make it like a powder. Thanks for a great recipe Lindsay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
We loved this! The only ingredient I couldn't find was coconut powder. I made it without the powder and it still tasted great! Even my almost 2yo gobbled it up. I did size the recipe down to six servings and IMO 1 cup of quinoa was still too much. I marked it down for myself that I'd cook 3/4 of a cup to make six servings. This dish is tasty and sweet and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
My husband loved this (and he hates the idea of eating vegetables and quinoa). I did make a few minor changes to the recipe: 1. I added some chicken stock to the stew 2. I added about a tablespoon of Indian Masala seasoning 3. I used canned tomatoes (simply because I was out of fresh ones) 4. I used chickpeas instead of lentils (because that's all I had) 5. I added about a tsp of sugar to help offset the bitterness of the tomatoes It was wonderfully delicious. I highly recommend you try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States