Coconut-Curry Lentil Stew Served over Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
DEE-LISH-US!! Dare I mention that I used a can of diced tomatoes and instead of the spices I used 3 tbsp of tandoori masala? It was so delicious - my seven year old and 12 year old boys both loved it, and in fact my 12 year old asked for seconds and took a helping in his lunch (which I made with brown rice since we had eaten all of the quinoa for supper). First time any of us had eaten quinoa but I will most definitely make this dish again...and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This is really good, I personally loved it. My four kids ages from 3-12 all really liked this and they are really picky. My husband even liked it and he is not a lentil fan. I only used 1 tsp of salt for the quinoa and I used green lentils added 1 c water and cooked for an hour. The lentils were not mushy - just right. I will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4babes2luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
this was very yummy. i used about double the tomatoe and let it reduce. it made more of a sauce doing it this way. also i added masala. served over rice then sprinkled with cilantro. my kids dont like veggies so i pured theirs and loved it and gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Really good base for a curry dish. Never had cooked with coconut oil, which was amazing. I always add the spices to the cooking veggies. Added carrots, green pepper and chopped jalapeno. Threw in a heaping spoon of tomato paste for flavor and color. VERY TASTY. Lentils vary in cooking time, but realize that they continue to cook in the hot liquid. 30 minutes and then remove as a rule.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I just made this. I started with 1/2 the recommended molasses and put a tone of ginger, I also used red curry past and made it extremly spciy. i cut up the cilantro and mixed in with the quinoa and a touch of olive oil. YUMMMO. Absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is one of my new favorite recipes. I used jasmine rice instead of quinoa and I ground up shredded coconut in the blender because I did not have coconut powder. I also added 1 tsp of garam masala to the spice mix and used 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon rather than the cinnamon stick. Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
so yummy! i omitted the coconut powder (didn't have it), and added one pepper, and two carrots. I also cooked the quinoa on 1 1/2 cups water, and 2 cups vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I'm a vegetarian and I liked it, by my omnivorous family asked me to NEVER make it again. They ate the quinoa to be polite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Overall this is pretty good. I did find the tbsp of salt for the quinoa was too way much - probably try cooking w/o any next time. The flavors from the curry should be sufficient without having to season the quinoa. I used regular lentils and it took a lot time to cook - at least 1 hour during which I kept having to add water (lost track of how much water I added - probably 2 or more cups) and constantly stirring to keep it from sticking to the bottom of the pot. I looked up how to cook lentils in general and noted that older lentils will take longer to cook because they have lost more moisture. Mine was sitting around for a while and could be the reason why it took forever to soften. Further acidic ingredients such as wine or tomatoes can lengthen cooking time. Will probably try using canned lentils next time to shorten the cooking time or use a slow cooker and leave it overnight. Another thought is to use a dutch oven and cover the stew which may help cook the lentils faster w/o having to keep adding more liquids....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
It was a bit too nutty tasting served over the quinoa. Perhaps it'll be better over rice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States