Coconut-Curry Lentil Stew Served over Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
THIS IS EXCELLENT. Just use half the salt. It actually got my fiance to eat Indian food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Kath

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This was pretty tasty. My only subs were shredded coconut instead of powder (I ground it with a mortar and pestle) and green lentils (the store I went to didn't have red). I made it in the morning and let the flavors meld all day. We enjoyed it, but it wasn't until after I served it that I remembered that I had planned to add fresh ginger, pistachios and sriracha. So I guess I'll try adding those next time--and I think there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I thought it had great flavors and was an easy way for me to use up my red lentils and newly bought coconut oil! I will definitely be making this again, but with a couple changes. I like my gravy dishes to be more liquidy, so I will only add a cup of lentils to maintain the flavor ratio without adding more tomatoes. Chicken broth was substituted instead of water and I added a TBSP of butter for silkiness. I think I will try making it with sliced chicken in the future too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal907

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Unfortunately I think it was the quality of the curry powder I chose for this recipe. I'm not sure what makes a good curry powder exactly, only that I was hoping for something that tasted like my favourite Indian restaurant and instead got something spicy-bland. While I love quinoa, I think basmati is the way to go based on texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Yes people, vegan can be hearty AND delicious. We're not vegan (or even vegetarian) but my girlfriend and I loved this recipe! It definitely makes a lot of food so be prepared for leftovers if you're not feeding a large group! Two comments for others making this dish: 1. If you love coconut flavor you might want to do something to kick it up a notch. We used the coconut oil, coconut milk and coconut powder (2x what recipe called for), but were left wanting even more coconut flavor. Not sure what the best choice is to give it a strong coconut flavor, but we'll be exploring that the next time we make this dish. 2. If you've got someone to help you prepare the meal, don't make the quinoa at the very beginning of prep. It just ends up sitting around waiting for the main dish to be completed. Have your cooking partner make the quinoa as you're putting together the main stew. This will save prep time and be easier to keep the quinoa warm. We're excited to make this dish again because it can be so easily altered to anyone's tastes! It's a stew so add some more veggies you like or a favorite protein. It's hard to go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This was a really delicious recipe with very accurate directions that resulted in perfectly cooked lentils. It was very quick and easy. With tomatoes going out of season, I used a tetrapak of good quality chopped tomatoes, so it was even easier with very little prep work. The only additions I made were some cayenne pepper and a squeeze of lemon juice on the top. I accidentally forgot the coconut powder, so I'll look forward to having even more coconut flavor next time. This will be in the regular dinner rotation at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Delicious! I served this with a whole tandoori roasted cauliflower (recipe here: http://mynewroots.blogspot.ca/2012/09/whole-roasted-tandoori-cauliflower-with_19.html ), basmati rice and mango chutney. I did a few small changes: used a large canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes, added diced carrots, used large brown lentils and increased the cooking time to about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Used this a basic guideline working with limited ingredients. Loved it, will be going back to it again! Spicing was simple but delicious. Added chili seeds for some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyLazz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Very yummy recipe! Used 2 cans light coconut milk due to yellow lentils. Used canola oil (didn't have coconut oi) Used split yellow lentils (instead of the red because all I had were split red lentils and they would have turned to paste) and a can of fire roasted tomatoes since I didn't have fresh in the house. Added a dash of cayenne pepper to heat it up a little. Very satisfying, very delicious restaurant quality lentil dish! An inexpensive way to eat ethnic! You can get the powdered coconut at any of the Indian/Pakistani type grocery/specialty stores and its well worth it! Keep these items in your pantry for when you are shut in, or not in the mood to cook a big production meal. I call these my "pantry meals" for when I have not had time to run to the store, at least I always can make a delicious dinner with things I have on hand! DO MAKE THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States