Coconut Curry Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I thought this dish was pretty good, but found it a bit bland. It was easy and a good way to get my bf to eat fish because it masked the fishy taste pretty well. With the addition of some extra salt (which I usually don't like) the dish became tastier. I made changes according to what I had on hand. I used a bag of frozen peas, corn, carrots, and green beans and added some frozen red peppers. I cooked all the veggies in the micro before adding to the dish, to cut down on the water being added to the dish. I used tilapia for the fish and cooked it separately so it would not fall apart. I just added half of the coconut milk and spices to each pan (the pan with the veggies and the pan with the fish). I didn't have tumeric so I used a little extra cumin, next time I'll cut down on the cumin and use nutmeg as I think the cumin took away from the flavor of this dish. I served this over jasmin batsmati rice. It was very filling and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
i quite enjoyed this dish but i found it a little to spicy for my taste.Saying that i used hot chilli powder,next time i will use a mild chilli powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khadz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I found this recipe bland. I am not sure what I could do to improve it either. My husband cannot handle much heat, so I am at a loss at how to spice this up without burning my hubby's mouth. I was not impressed and will look for another curried fish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I love fish and love curry but this was not for me! The fish fell apart and was all together very weird for me, and it was very very runny no matter how much cornstarch I tried to use. I would recommend if you are going to make this to use fresh veggies as the frozen ones added the the runniness of the recipe. I think if I where to ever make this again I would use chicken and not fish, but I'm probably not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
If you like spicy food, this requires a lot of doctoring to make it meet that need. I also found myself adding a lot of salt to it to make it more flavoral. Once it had a chance to simmer for awhile, the flavors improve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Meidinger

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashley, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
very tasty…I used halibut & used a larger portion of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I love this recipe, however I made some modifications. I added more curry, and also cayenne pepper, chili power, and red peppers...I like my food spicy. Also, I made the sauce and broiled the fish. That way the fish wasn't falling apart and disinigrating into the sauce (like some other members have said).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Loved the recipe. Made it last night want it again tonight. I liked it the way it was but I think I would add a little more fish (would probably taste good with any meat). You can also adjust the amount of curry & tumeric depending on which flavor you like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I agree with some other reviewers --- this is a decent recipe, but it really does turn out lacking in flavor. It's spicy, but does not have any really distinct flavor to me other than somewhat curry-ish. Oddly, I really couldn't taste the coconut milk at all. Something is missing, but I am not sure what. Adding more salt does not do it. That said, it was pretty good, if you use a good quality fish, and the spice is tasty enough. Just not something I would take the time to make again, since I think there are better fish recipes. I made this exactly as directed, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Loved it. Not sure how anyone could say this recipe was bland. I thought it was delicious and so did my bf, although he had to keep taking breaks because it was so spicy (i thought it was perfect!) I did add an extra garlic glove and didn't have tumeric :( Also didn't have corn starch, but didn't seem to make too much of a difference. Sauce was pretty thick without it. I cut pretty big chunks after reading some people had problems with it falling apart. That seemed to work and the fish (not chicken) was very good. Nice change. Def make it again. Oh, also used Lite coconut milk - thought that worked just fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Tip for Utokia's Pecan Coconut Crusted Fish

See how to make quick, mess-free pecan and coconut-crusted cod fillets.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States