Coconut Curry Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I found this recipe bland. I am not sure what I could do to improve it either. My husband cannot handle much heat, so I am at a loss at how to spice this up without burning my hubby's mouth. I was not impressed and will look for another curried fish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I love fish and love curry but this was not for me! The fish fell apart and was all together very weird for me, and it was very very runny no matter how much cornstarch I tried to use. I would recommend if you are going to make this to use fresh veggies as the frozen ones added the the runniness of the recipe. I think if I where to ever make this again I would use chicken and not fish, but I'm probably not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
If you like spicy food, this requires a lot of doctoring to make it meet that need. I also found myself adding a lot of salt to it to make it more flavoral. Once it had a chance to simmer for awhile, the flavors improve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashley, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
very tasty…I used halibut & used a larger portion of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I love this recipe, however I made some modifications. I added more curry, and also cayenne pepper, chili power, and red peppers...I like my food spicy. Also, I made the sauce and broiled the fish. That way the fish wasn't falling apart and disinigrating into the sauce (like some other members have said).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Loved the recipe. Made it last night want it again tonight. I liked it the way it was but I think I would add a little more fish (would probably taste good with any meat). You can also adjust the amount of curry & tumeric depending on which flavor you like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I agree with some other reviewers --- this is a decent recipe, but it really does turn out lacking in flavor. It's spicy, but does not have any really distinct flavor to me other than somewhat curry-ish. Oddly, I really couldn't taste the coconut milk at all. Something is missing, but I am not sure what. Adding more salt does not do it. That said, it was pretty good, if you use a good quality fish, and the spice is tasty enough. Just not something I would take the time to make again, since I think there are better fish recipes. I made this exactly as directed, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Loved it. Not sure how anyone could say this recipe was bland. I thought it was delicious and so did my bf, although he had to keep taking breaks because it was so spicy (i thought it was perfect!) I did add an extra garlic glove and didn't have tumeric :( Also didn't have corn starch, but didn't seem to make too much of a difference. Sauce was pretty thick without it. I cut pretty big chunks after reading some people had problems with it falling apart. That seemed to work and the fish (not chicken) was very good. Nice change. Def make it again. Oh, also used Lite coconut milk - thought that worked just fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Really enjoyed the dish. I used leftover brown rice from previous dinner. Was easy to make. Will use more fish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was pretty good and easy to make. I did use chicken instead of fish based on other reviews and think that was the right decision. I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States