Coconut Curry Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
WOW!! An awesome chili. While it’s unconventional, this chili is among the best ever tasted. A few personal tweaks: (i) 1 lb. ground turkey rather than 1/2 lb.; (ii) 1 1/4 cups low sodium beef broth rather than like amount of water; (iii) 18.7 oz. Campbell’s Harvest Tomato w/ Basil rather than 2 cans (21.5 oz.) of regular tomato soup; (iv) Hot Mango Chutney rather than regular mango chutney (only if some heat is preferred); (v) lite coconut milk rather than regular. Submitter and reviewers say this chili gets better the next day but the first batch we made was devoured, and never made it that long. Anyone who really likes this dish, try Sweet and Spicy Curry with Chickpeas on this site . . . some differences but many similarities to this fantastic recipe. usmcwifey . . . this was so, so good that we’re going to try your Curry Chicken Salad, personal recipe. This is a keeper that gets mounted on the wall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This dish was absolutely AMAZING!! I doubled the turkey and doubled the tomato soup. Used garlic powder instead of minced garlic. Chopped up some baby carrots. Used hot mango chutney because that's all I could find. It was just the right spiciness for me. I had a difficult time finding the chutney. Luckily Wegman's had it. My local Giant, Weis, and Target didn't carry it. I will definitely be making this again very shortly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Delicious. I made this on chili night with three other chili recipes. This was the favorite of many. I made traditional beef/bean chili and a white bean/chicken chili. I wanted to make a venison chili. I thought that the game flavor would go well with a curry. I found this and went with it! My only regret is the I didn't make it the day before because it was even better the next day. I "eyeballed" my measurements. But even so, the flavors were wonderful. I served with couscous. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dumblady
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was surprisingly good! Had to adapt a few things...Substituted kumquat jam for the chutney cuz we had none. Also no tomato soup on hand, but used a jar of tomato sauce instead. Cut the curry down a little because DH dislikes it. Added a few red pepper flakes and WOW! This was a hit! Even my picky DH enjoyed. Next time I'll saute some onions and omit the onion powder and it's a keeper. Thanks for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dumblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Fair warning for those of you who object to those of us who review tweaked recipes- stop reading now! I used a whole pound of ground chicken and a leftover chicken breast, a large can of crushed tomatos instead of soup, chicken stock instead of water, black beans instead of red kidney, parsnips instead of carrots, and the whole can of lite coconut milk. I used extra hot mango chutney and doubled the amount called for. I added onion, sweet potato, red bell pepper, a pinch of hot red pepper flakes and a tablespoon of fresh ginger. This was delicious served over brown rice. It was sweet, spicy, earthy and rich. This is obviously a very adaptable recipe, however I would definitely not skip the hot mango chutney. It really makes this special. It was extra excellent the next day over whole wheat couscous with an extra dollop of chutney and a sprinkle of toasted unsweetened coconut. I love this recipe idea and will make it often with or without tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was amazing chili! I personally love curry but find it to be very powerful so I halved it and added a little extra onion powder. I also added celery and some mushrooms.. delicious! I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
i used this recipe for a chili cook off at school many people doubted it i myself began to doubt but once i came in at first place i knew the recioe was a great choice its a diffrent spin on a chili and i think thats what won us the gold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I made no substitutions (except my package of ground turkey was closer to 1lb), and it turned out fantastic. It is definitely on the sweeter side, but that's right up my alley. You could easily spice it up with chili flakes or hot sauce. With my ingredients, it came out to ~385 calories per generous serving, so it's friendly on the diet as well :) Thanks usmcwifey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Great recipe! Modified it to what I had in my kitchen as we use salt reduced diet. Used 2 - 19 oz cans (no salt added)tomato sauce; didn't add any water; (no salt added) can of a bean medley which included chick peas; and a can of (no salt added) kidney beans. I didn't add the carrots although I'm sure they would have been good too; and didn't have onion salt so added 1/4 cup chopped onion. My husband thought it was the best, and I will definitely make it again and pass it on to family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
It's been quite awhile since I came across a true gem of a recipe! This is absolutely out of the world; knock your socks off delish! Made it exactly as written but did not have mango chutney. I subbed equal parts apricot jam, sweet garlic chili, and hot garlic chili. Also added onion, red chile pepper and green pepper. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States