Coconut Curry Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was amazing chili! I personally love curry but find it to be very powerful so I halved it and added a little extra onion powder. I also added celery and some mushrooms.. delicious! I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Fair warning for those of you who object to those of us who review tweaked recipes- stop reading now! I used a whole pound of ground chicken and a leftover chicken breast, a large can of crushed tomatos instead of soup, chicken stock instead of water, black beans instead of red kidney, parsnips instead of carrots, and the whole can of lite coconut milk. I used extra hot mango chutney and doubled the amount called for. I added onion, sweet potato, red bell pepper, a pinch of hot red pepper flakes and a tablespoon of fresh ginger. This was delicious served over brown rice. It was sweet, spicy, earthy and rich. This is obviously a very adaptable recipe, however I would definitely not skip the hot mango chutney. It really makes this special. It was extra excellent the next day over whole wheat couscous with an extra dollop of chutney and a sprinkle of toasted unsweetened coconut. I love this recipe idea and will make it often with or without tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by dumblady
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was surprisingly good! Had to adapt a few things...Substituted kumquat jam for the chutney cuz we had none. Also no tomato soup on hand, but used a jar of tomato sauce instead. Cut the curry down a little because DH dislikes it. Added a few red pepper flakes and WOW! This was a hit! Even my picky DH enjoyed. Next time I'll saute some onions and omit the onion powder and it's a keeper. Thanks for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dumblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Turned out very good. My family had to get use to the different flavors but everyone ended up liking it. It was even better on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Very interesting. While I was preparing it I thought "weird", but this turns out to be a satisfying and tasty meal. I subsistuted sweet chili sauce for the chutney since I didn't have any, and instead of the beans I added chopped onion and sweet potato. A bit of turmeric went in too. It was a tad sweet for my taste so I added some hot sauce to balance the flavours. Served over brown rice and garnished with chopped cilantro and avocado slices. Thanks usmcwifey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
YUMMY! I added some Garam Masala to the curry and fresh grated ginger to the garlic and it was delicious. My husband loved it, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
My husband and I loved this and our two-year-old daughter even enjoyed some parts of it (carrots, chick peas, and turkey bits)! I didn't have all the ingredients, so I modified it quite a bit, but for me the fact that recipe is so flexible means it is better! I doubled the amount of turkey, left out the water, used 2 cans of diced tomatoes with jalapenos, added 1/2 c each of onion, sweet potato, green pepper, fresh mango, and basmati rice, used 2 tsp garam masala, about 1 tsp of chili powder, and 1/2 tsp of garlic powder instead of the curry powder, and used a full can of coconut milk. I browned the turkey on the stove, and sauteed the onions and green peppers with the spices till they were translucent. Then I put everything in the slow cooker on high for 4 hours. It came out great, and leftovers the next day were even better. It was very thick, so next time I might put in a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was absolutely delicious and overall pretty healthy! I loved the chic peas and the curry & coconut is a great flavor combination. I didn't have mango chutney, so just simmered some diced mango in minimal water with pumpkin pie spices (nutmeg, cinnamon, allspice and ginger) while the chili was cooking and threw it into the chili more toward the end. Also added some onion and jalepeno to bulk up on the veggies and simmered it a little longer than written in the recipe to really let the flavors combine. Next time I'll use low sodium tomato soup so I can better control the amount of salt. The high sodium was really the only unhealthy part of this recipe and is easy to modify. This will definitely go in our soup rotation for the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I am making a double recipe as I post. I did add 2 "new" potatoes, too. I can't stop "tasting" a bean or carrot. YUM. Since this is tomorrow's Sunday dinner, I have time to zip to the market for the mango chutney. I plan to serve it on quinoa. (We are having rice tonight.) I think this is going to be my fav way to use ground turkey. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This Chili is awesome. Great flavor! I wouldn't change a thing, although I am sure everyone will have ideas of how to personalize it. It can handle additonal tweaks. I would recommend it if you really like Thai or Indian flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dehomecook
Home Town: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States