Coconut Curry Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Great recipe! Modified it to what I had in my kitchen as we use salt reduced diet. Used 2 - 19 oz cans (no salt added)tomato sauce; didn't add any water; (no salt added) can of a bean medley which included chick peas; and a can of (no salt added) kidney beans. I didn't add the carrots although I'm sure they would have been good too; and didn't have onion salt so added 1/4 cup chopped onion. My husband thought it was the best, and I will definitely make it again and pass it on to family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I made no substitutions (except my package of ground turkey was closer to 1lb), and it turned out fantastic. It is definitely on the sweeter side, but that's right up my alley. You could easily spice it up with chili flakes or hot sauce. With my ingredients, it came out to ~385 calories per generous serving, so it's friendly on the diet as well :) Thanks usmcwifey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This dish was absolutely AMAZING!! I doubled the turkey and doubled the tomato soup. Used garlic powder instead of minced garlic. Chopped up some baby carrots. Used hot mango chutney because that's all I could find. It was just the right spiciness for me. I had a difficult time finding the chutney. Luckily Wegman's had it. My local Giant, Weis, and Target didn't carry it. I will definitely be making this again very shortly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
i used this recipe for a chili cook off at school many people doubted it i myself began to doubt but once i came in at first place i knew the recioe was a great choice its a diffrent spin on a chili and i think thats what won us the gold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
WOW!! An awesome chili. While it’s unconventional, this chili is among the best ever tasted. A few personal tweaks: (i) 1 lb. ground turkey rather than 1/2 lb.; (ii) 1 1/4 cups low sodium beef broth rather than like amount of water; (iii) 18.7 oz. Campbell’s Harvest Tomato w/ Basil rather than 2 cans (21.5 oz.) of regular tomato soup; (iv) Hot Mango Chutney rather than regular mango chutney (only if some heat is preferred); (v) lite coconut milk rather than regular. Submitter and reviewers say this chili gets better the next day but the first batch we made was devoured, and never made it that long. Anyone who really likes this dish, try Sweet and Spicy Curry with Chickpeas on this site . . . some differences but many similarities to this fantastic recipe. usmcwifey . . . this was so, so good that we’re going to try your Curry Chicken Salad, personal recipe. This is a keeper that gets mounted on the wall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was amazing chili! I personally love curry but find it to be very powerful so I halved it and added a little extra onion powder. I also added celery and some mushrooms.. delicious! I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Fair warning for those of you who object to those of us who review tweaked recipes- stop reading now! I used a whole pound of ground chicken and a leftover chicken breast, a large can of crushed tomatos instead of soup, chicken stock instead of water, black beans instead of red kidney, parsnips instead of carrots, and the whole can of lite coconut milk. I used extra hot mango chutney and doubled the amount called for. I added onion, sweet potato, red bell pepper, a pinch of hot red pepper flakes and a tablespoon of fresh ginger. This was delicious served over brown rice. It was sweet, spicy, earthy and rich. This is obviously a very adaptable recipe, however I would definitely not skip the hot mango chutney. It really makes this special. It was extra excellent the next day over whole wheat couscous with an extra dollop of chutney and a sprinkle of toasted unsweetened coconut. I love this recipe idea and will make it often with or without tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by dumblady
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was surprisingly good! Had to adapt a few things...Substituted kumquat jam for the chutney cuz we had none. Also no tomato soup on hand, but used a jar of tomato sauce instead. Cut the curry down a little because DH dislikes it. Added a few red pepper flakes and WOW! This was a hit! Even my picky DH enjoyed. Next time I'll saute some onions and omit the onion powder and it's a keeper. Thanks for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dumblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Turned out very good. My family had to get use to the different flavors but everyone ended up liking it. It was even better on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Very interesting. While I was preparing it I thought "weird", but this turns out to be a satisfying and tasty meal. I subsistuted sweet chili sauce for the chutney since I didn't have any, and instead of the beans I added chopped onion and sweet potato. A bit of turmeric went in too. It was a tad sweet for my taste so I added some hot sauce to balance the flavours. Served over brown rice and garnished with chopped cilantro and avocado slices. Thanks usmcwifey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States