Coconut Curry Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Without a doubt this is AMAZING. I did not change much. I just doubled it and only used 1.25lbs of ground turkey, instead of 4 cans of tomato soup (because I doubled) I used 2 cans of tomato soup and one can of diced tomatoes. I also used lite coconut milk. Everyone loved it. This will be a usual in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
My husband made this recipe for my birthday. It was very very good- we used the slow cooker and the only thing he changed was the meat- he doesn't like ground turkey so he added chicken instead. He said it was his new favorite curry recipe (besides his aunt's curry, who lives in Bangladesh)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This is so...so good. I followed the top review by adding potatoes, broth instead of water and used the Campbell's soup. I am a fan of Indian/Thai food and this is restaurant quality. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
5 star recipe without a doubt. FANTASTIC without any modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MediaMer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I used 1 can of diced tomatoes and 1 can of tomato puree. I also added fresh basil and used hot mango chutney and hot curry powder (we like spicy). This was delicious and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe! I've made it several times. I've modified it on occasion. I've substituted lentils (trader joes pre-cooked) for the Turkey, added diced baby potatoes, sautéed onion, 1 full can of light coconut milk, and used 1 full carton of roasted red pepper tomato soup (trader joes) instead of regular. Sooo good! I've even topped off servings with a dollop of siggi's coconut skyr (gelsons/whole foods) Oh, and I used trader joes mango ginger chutney
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I liked this recipe. The only thing is that it is too sweet for my personal taste. I had to add some hot sauce to it to balance it out for me. I think I will add a bit less coconut milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shutchison6180

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearisburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kinetix
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Loved it! Modified the Ingredients though It gives a great left over meal too! had it for lunch the next day! its enough for a family of 4-5 Made it for me & my Boyfriend, at first he wasn't so into the indian idea of it but once he tried it immediately wanted seconds.! Changed: 1/2 cup chopped carrot - to Sliced/Grated 1 teaspoon onion powder - to Grated Removed: 1 (15 ounce) can red kidney beans, drained and rinsed Added: 2 dash of Cayenne Pepper 1 (15 ounce) can Corn non sweet, drained and rinsed Also seasoned the ground turkey with poultry seasoning. & stirred pot occasionally (15min intervals)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I must start by informing you that I tweaked this recipe some. while I am certain that its perfect as is, I must say...this chili turned out to be THE BEST I have made! everybody (children included), gobbled this up. Now, here is what I changed, I sauteed 3 tablespoons of vegetable oil, 3 cloves of minced garlic, & diced carrots for 7 minutes then added frozen vegi crumbles (instead of turkey). I sauteed until cooked through. I then followed the second part of the recipe using 2 cans of tomato sauce(instead of soup) and using vegi broth(in place of water. I skipped adding the carrots & garlic to the tomato mixture since I already sauteed it with the "meat". I used fat free coconut milk and added it at the end, after everything is cooked together for the stated time. I followed the recipes measurements of the spices. I hope these are helpful suggestions for vegetarians out there that are craving a hearty or even meat eaters that want to try healthier options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hotmamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Amazing! I also added two new potatoes, and a little cumin. Can't wait for my leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States