Coconut Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I agree with catwhispererPhD who said: "Smelled great, but then the chicken just tasted of chicken and curry sauce flavor was weak. :(" I cut up the chicken into chunks and cooked them in the sauce to try to get more flavor in the chicken (after reading the other comments), but it still just didn't seem to have the flavor of the curry in it, and yeah, the curry was weak--I added a little salt and sugar and that helped a bit but it still needed something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Rosen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
YUM! I added some chopped tomato, onion, and lentils to add more consistency. I also cut the chicken in chunks and simmered it WITH the sauce because I've seen it this was in restaurants. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe! I totally forgot to put the lime juice in but i did add some flaked coconut for extra sweetness and it came out great. I made basmati rice and peas to go with. It was even more delicious the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Aran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Was a little salty but added a few pinches of sugar to help cut the salt and it turned out FABULOUS! Also sateed up some sugar snap peas, carrots, and onions as a side dish. As the final touch we made Giada DeLaurentis' mango lassi from the food network. Look it up and definitely give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Smelled great, but then the chicken just tasted of chicken and curry sauce flavor was weak. :( I was hoping for something similar to what you'd get at a Thai restaurant (I used red curry paste), but it wasn't even close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This recipe was delish!!! I am the youngest in my family (21) and have more experienced pallet so when I decided to make this recipe for dinner my family was a little skeptical (especially because the curry STINKS up the kitchen). However this recipe was delicious! I did make a few changes: the recipe did not specify whether to get sweetened or unsweetened coconut milk- so i purchased unsweetened which I found when cooking left the recipe a little bitter so i ended up adding a tablespoon or 2 of sugar. So next time I will probably buy the sweetened! I also added portabella mushrooms and large pieces of white onion. I served the chicken over Uncle Ben's 90 second basmati rice! which was perfect with the chicken! Overall, delicious meal and most definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Great recipe! This is already a favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by roxz
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Very tasty and great for a quick weeknight meal! I wanted to have some veggies with this so I just grabbed what was in the fridge - onion, celery, and carrots - and added them to the pan at the same time as the green onion and curry paste. They were still crisp tender when the dish was finished. I added a little more curry paste than the recipe called for as I like it spicy. I would suggest maybe adding a little more liquid to the dish if you are going to add vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Made it for some friends, and they loved it. Very simple to make too, first time cooking after a mostly college diet(top ramen & mac and cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Delicious! I added a few things. I cooked the chicken in raw organic extra virgin coconut oil and added shrimp, water chestnuts and chili's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States