Coconut Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I used this with a pecan pie filling. The result was AMAZING! I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramboettrach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I found this didn't make enough crust to thinly line a regular sized Pyrex glass pie plate. I think this recipe should be 'doubled' or 'one and one halved'. I also found that the crust didn't stay on the bottom of my pie. After filling it with filling and baking the pie the crust floated throughout the pie and mixed into the filling. I think this crust should only be used for non-baked pies, the kind that you fill and refrigerate not bake. On the positive side, this was quick, and only two ingredients. Not a lot of butter in it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyTummy
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This was great! I accidentally purchased grated coconut and it still worked fine. I got unsweetened coconut but added a teaspoon of vanilla. Then I baked it as instructed. I combined it with the really popular Coconut Cream Pie on this site and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I must have done something wrong...there was a lot of coconut, and so the top of the crust got toasted, but the bottom stayed untoasted--causing it to fall apart on me. And it was simply just way too rich. Like I said, it could be very possible that I did something wrong, but it's two ingredients!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This is an amazing alternative to wheat-based pie crusts. I mix coconut milk with pudding mix and it makes the most awesome chocolate-coconut pudding pie on the planet. My vegan friends emphatically agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghiggins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Beautiful. You can make it vegan by substituting 3T unrefined coconut oil for the butter - even more intense coconut flavor. I do agree that the author should have specified unsweetened coconut flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
It wasn't quite as crunchy as I remember,from when I made it as a teenager. Maybe coconut was different then-everything else was! I am going to experiment to see what I am missing. The recipe is fine...my memories are just fooling me. Any suggestions? For the pie,not my memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Healthiest alternative to bread, I customized it completely will be posting butter free version. I've used as an alternate to bread and flour for several recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I made this crust for a gluten-free coconut pie. Even my gluten eating family thought it was better than a shortbread crust. It was so easy. As another reviewer suggested, I put the ingredients in the food processor before pressing into the pie plate and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ulrich1
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was delicious! I made it as a crust for an ice cream pie. I put a thin layer of ganache on top of the crust, followed by chocolate ice cream and finished it off with whipped topping. It was like a Mounds bar ice cream pie. Someone told me this was actually the *best* crust they ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ulrich1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States