Coconut Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This crust was amazing..especially when paired with the Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie another reader mentioned. That pie, along with this crust put me on a new level with my husband. Next time, I will double the recipe for the crust for a thicker crust. Amazingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Used this as a crust for low carb chocolate mousse--AWESOME! I toasted it in the oven until it was golden brown all over and it was really good. I used unsweetened coconut and made no changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeriNewman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This crust is just too yummy! I used 1 and 1/4 cup of dried unsweetened coconut from the healthfood store, and 1/4 cup of the sweetened angel flake coconut. I combined the coconut and butter in my food processor. The crust turned out wonderfully crisp and almost cookie like. (Just not as sweet.) Wonderful with sugar free pudding as a filling. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojomama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lone Tree, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
this crust is simple and tastes amazing!! The only thing I would do is spray the pie plate with cooking spray..mine stuck a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
TOTALLY TO DIE FOR!!!!! WE'RE ON LOW CARBS. I LISTENED TO OTHERS SUGGESTIONS: USED UNSWEETENED COCONUT & 1/2 C. MORE [ALSO ADDED 2 TBL. MORE BUTTER]& 3 PACKETTES EQUAL,POURED IN SUGAR FREE COOKED CHOCOLATE PUDDING, AND TOPPED WITH 1 8 OZ. CREAM WHIPPED SWEETENED WITH 3 PKTS. OF EQUAL,AND SPRINKLED TOP WITH 1 C. CHOPPED & TOASTED ALMONDS. NEXT TIME, I WOULD OMIT THE EXTRA 1/2 C. COCONUT-----I'D LIKE THE CRUST A LITTLE THINNER.AND BY-THE-WAY.......... THIS WAS BETTER THAN YOU KNOW WHAT!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
RAVE RAVE RAVE REVIEWS AT OUR VERY HARD TO PLEASE FAMILY HOLIDAY DINNER. I used this crust with an instant cocount pudding mix (1 1/2 cups of milk instead of 2) and 1/2 cup of cool-whip topped off with more cool whip and flaked coconut. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
This crust is wonderful! I've used it with the Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie recipe that appears elsewhere on the site. It's a dynamite combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
This crust is so good. I did add 1/2 C. more coconut for a thicker crust, then made a chocolate coconut filling with almonds and a whipped cream topping. Oh my!! Almost better than..well, it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
What a great idea! Made this as the crust for a lemon meringue pie and it was a big hit. Did use 2 cups coconut with 5 tablespoons butter and 3 tablespoons Splenda and then followed the instructions. Thanks, Carol, for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
It was awesome! If your watching your carbs this is a great substution for a graham cracker crust. Fill it with sugar free pudding and viola! a cream pie that has fewer carbs and calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GXROXY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States