Coconut Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
this crust is simple and tastes amazing!! The only thing I would do is spray the pie plate with cooking spray..mine stuck a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
RAVE RAVE RAVE REVIEWS AT OUR VERY HARD TO PLEASE FAMILY HOLIDAY DINNER. I used this crust with an instant cocount pudding mix (1 1/2 cups of milk instead of 2) and 1/2 cup of cool-whip topped off with more cool whip and flaked coconut. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
This crust is so good. I did add 1/2 C. more coconut for a thicker crust, then made a chocolate coconut filling with almonds and a whipped cream topping. Oh my!! Almost better than..well, it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
This crust is wonderful! I've used it with the Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie recipe that appears elsewhere on the site. It's a dynamite combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Used this as a crust for low carb chocolate mousse--AWESOME! I toasted it in the oven until it was golden brown all over and it was really good. I used unsweetened coconut and made no changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeriNewman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
TOTALLY TO DIE FOR!!!!! WE'RE ON LOW CARBS. I LISTENED TO OTHERS SUGGESTIONS: USED UNSWEETENED COCONUT & 1/2 C. MORE [ALSO ADDED 2 TBL. MORE BUTTER]& 3 PACKETTES EQUAL,POURED IN SUGAR FREE COOKED CHOCOLATE PUDDING, AND TOPPED WITH 1 8 OZ. CREAM WHIPPED SWEETENED WITH 3 PKTS. OF EQUAL,AND SPRINKLED TOP WITH 1 C. CHOPPED & TOASTED ALMONDS. NEXT TIME, I WOULD OMIT THE EXTRA 1/2 C. COCONUT-----I'D LIKE THE CRUST A LITTLE THINNER.AND BY-THE-WAY.......... THIS WAS BETTER THAN YOU KNOW WHAT!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
It was awesome! If your watching your carbs this is a great substution for a graham cracker crust. Fill it with sugar free pudding and viola! a cream pie that has fewer carbs and calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GXROXY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This crust is just too yummy! I used 1 and 1/4 cup of dried unsweetened coconut from the healthfood store, and 1/4 cup of the sweetened angel flake coconut. I combined the coconut and butter in my food processor. The crust turned out wonderfully crisp and almost cookie like. (Just not as sweet.) Wonderful with sugar free pudding as a filling. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojomama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lone Tree, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This crust was amazing..especially when paired with the Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie another reader mentioned. That pie, along with this crust put me on a new level with my husband. Next time, I will double the recipe for the crust for a thicker crust. Amazingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
What a great idea! Made this as the crust for a lemon meringue pie and it was a big hit. Did use 2 cups coconut with 5 tablespoons butter and 3 tablespoons Splenda and then followed the instructions. Thanks, Carol, for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States