Coconut Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This was great! I accidentally purchased grated coconut and it still worked fine. I got unsweetened coconut but added a teaspoon of vanilla. Then I baked it as instructed. I combined it with the really popular Coconut Cream Pie on this site and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I must have done something wrong...there was a lot of coconut, and so the top of the crust got toasted, but the bottom stayed untoasted--causing it to fall apart on me. And it was simply just way too rich. Like I said, it could be very possible that I did something wrong, but it's two ingredients!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This is an amazing alternative to wheat-based pie crusts. I mix coconut milk with pudding mix and it makes the most awesome chocolate-coconut pudding pie on the planet. My vegan friends emphatically agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghiggins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Beautiful. You can make it vegan by substituting 3T unrefined coconut oil for the butter - even more intense coconut flavor. I do agree that the author should have specified unsweetened coconut flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
It wasn't quite as crunchy as I remember,from when I made it as a teenager. Maybe coconut was different then-everything else was! I am going to experiment to see what I am missing. The recipe is fine...my memories are just fooling me. Any suggestions? For the pie,not my memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Healthiest alternative to bread, I customized it completely will be posting butter free version. I've used as an alternate to bread and flour for several recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I made this crust for a gluten-free coconut pie. Even my gluten eating family thought it was better than a shortbread crust. It was so easy. As another reviewer suggested, I put the ingredients in the food processor before pressing into the pie plate and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ulrich1
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was delicious! I made it as a crust for an ice cream pie. I put a thin layer of ganache on top of the crust, followed by chocolate ice cream and finished it off with whipped topping. It was like a Mounds bar ice cream pie. Someone told me this was actually the *best* crust they ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ulrich1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this with un-sweetened, dried coconut that I reconstituted with warm water. Toyed with the idea of adding splenda but ended up not. It complimented my pineapple pie perfectly. Next time though I will not reconstitute the coconut as my crust did not get as brown and crispy as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I fell in love with this type of pie crust at a little diner in Ohio years ago in a French Silk pie. I melted the butter, and doubled the recipe, as it didn't look like quite enough, but I ended up with a bit too much on the bottom, which made it chewy, like a Mounds bar once it sat in the fridge overnight. Everyone else thought it was nice to have it chewy on the bottom and crispy on the sides, but next time I will make sure to not layer the bottom too thickly, as I like it crispy all over. Really outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States