Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made this for my mother's 55th Birthday. It's perfect! I followed the directions exactly as they were written. The cake was super moist with just the right density. I don't know how people can say that the cake was dry. I made 12 mini square loaves it took about 55 minutes to bake. People should remember that cooking time varies depending on the pans your using, your altitude, and the variance of your ovens actual temperature. I will be making a lot more of this cake! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This cake was so wonderful! I made it as my birthday cake and served it with whipped cream and sliced strawberries. Good thing it's a big cake, because every single person, both children and adults, came back for seconds. I used unsweetened organic coconut flakes, which I think was key for keeping it from being overly sweet, and the large flakes gave it a great coconut chewiness. If the leftovers last long enough to begin to dry out, you can take care of that by topping it with your favorite ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I submitted this recipe originally. I use a 6 ounce package of frozen coconut (thawed) instead of flaked coconut. The texture is much better with the frozen variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 19CONNIE61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I might back off on the sugar next time, it's a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This cake was very tasty but I'm really glad I cut the sugar to 2 1/2 cups. I think you could even cut it back a bit more as others have suggested because it is on the sweet side. The flavor was really good, but if I make it again I might increase the coconut extract a little bit. The cake wasn't dry, but it is dense as pound cakes usually are. I was thinking that a little vegetable oil in the batter would make it a bit moister if that's what you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Made using fresh coconut. This cake is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Folle-Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This cake is absolutely delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lakesha Elliott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
One of the best cakes I have ever made!! I used my Kitchenaid stand mixer. I let the cream cheese and artisan butter come to room temp before mixing for about 3.5 minutes. I pulsed the coconut in the food processor with one TBSP of corn oil before adding. I increased the coconut extract by double and have done the recipe with 2-3 cups of coconut with great results. I bake it at 350 for the first hour and then reduce to 325 for another half hour or more. I have shared this with so many friends and they all rave about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This cake is delightfully moist and rich but not too sweet, even with the light glaze I decided to add (powdered sugar, coconut extract, milk). I'll definitely be making this again. It baked in exactly one hour and twenty minutes, too. No fuss, no muss. A real winner of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I thought it was good - alittle on the heavy side, but great to dip with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States