Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Im giving 3 stars because this recipe needs work. Dryness is a factor with this one. It needs another stick of butter and a 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream added alternately with the flour. Also, 3 teaspoons of coconut flavoring plus 2 tablespoons of vanilla. The cook time is too long. I cooked for an hour and 20 minutes and should have pulled this out after the first hour. This cake cooks quickly. Overall, not terrible but I feel like I cooked a cake that I cannot eat because of the dryness and this cake is not cheap to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This cake was very moist and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather McSwain Harrell
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Absolute Perfection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HannahBA30
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I changed the flavors adding lemon and orange to one and almond and chocolate to the other loaf came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made this for my mother's 55th Birthday. It's perfect! I followed the directions exactly as they were written. The cake was super moist with just the right density.I made 12 mini square loaves it took about 55 minutes to bake. People should remember that cooking time varies depending on the pans your using, your altitude, and the variance of your ovens actual temperature. I will be making a lot more of this cake! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This cake was so wonderful! I made it as my birthday cake and served it with whipped cream and sliced strawberries. Good thing it's a big cake, because every single person, both children and adults, came back for seconds. I used unsweetened organic coconut flakes, which I think was key for keeping it from being overly sweet, and the large flakes gave it a great coconut chewiness. If the leftovers last long enough to begin to dry out, you can take care of that by topping it with your favorite ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I submitted this recipe originally. I use a 6 ounce package of frozen coconut (thawed) instead of flaked coconut. The texture is much better with the frozen variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 19CONNIE61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I might back off on the sugar next time, it's a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This cake was very tasty but I'm really glad I cut the sugar to 2 1/2 cups. I think you could even cut it back a bit more as others have suggested because it is on the sweet side. The flavor was really good, but if I make it again I might increase the coconut extract a little bit. The cake wasn't dry, but it is dense as pound cakes usually are. I was thinking that a little vegetable oil in the batter would make it a bit moister if that's what you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Made using fresh coconut. This cake is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Folle-Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States