Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This cake is truly excellent. Be sure to beat the sugar/butter for about 7 minutes to ensure enough air is incorporated. Also, I use dessicated coconut (I buy it online) and it makes a WONDERFUL improvement - none of that "chew chew chew" feeling with the supermarket kind. Has a stronger coconut taste, and lends a firmness that makes this wonderful cake even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allegra901

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
I've made this recipe twice now for company and have had only rave reviews! However, I always end up having to bake it for at 2 hours. ALso, I thought it was just a bit too sweet so the second time I made it I used a half cup less sugar and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
This is a fabulous cake! I followed other reviewers' suggestions and it turned out wonderfully. I baked it as a birthday cake, and got tons of compliments. I doubled the amount of coconut extract, reduced the sugar to 2 cups, and pulsed the coconut in the food processor just briefly. I also used Egg Beaters equivalent to 4 of the eggs. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
OMG! This pound cake is awesome! If you love coconut this cake is for you. I followed the recipe exactly and used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer to beat everything so it was nice and fluffy. I also let everything get to room temperature before mixing. It baked up beautifully in exactly 1 hour and 20 minutes and the smell in the house was nothing less than heavenly. Make no mistake, this cake is rich and dense so it's not something you'd make on a regular basis but it definitely fits the bill for special occasions. I served it with fresh strawberries, whipped cream and toasted coconut - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Great recipe. Just the right amount of coconut flavor. Very moist and great texture. The key is to use real butter and to cream the butter, cream cheese, and sugar until they are truly light and fluffy. I halved the recipe and baked in a loaf pan for 1 hr, 20 mins. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I am a die hard coconut fan and this is the most amazing cake i've ever made! My mom and i couldn't wait for it to leave the oven and i was told that i could no longer make that cake in the house....because we'd eat it all!! It has even now been added to the dessert menu at my restaurant as a strawberry shortcake and before the words are even out of my mouth the cake is gone. thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This was so easy to make and turned out wonderfully. I used a bundt pan and ended up baking it 10 minutes longer than the recipe says. This is an excellent cake to make for a picnic and is delicious served with fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
We tried this recipe as an entry for the county fair so we baked several over the course of a week. The texture was wonderful and the taste was very "Sara Lee". One caution I would make. Although we cooked it for the full 1 hr and 20 minutes and it appeared to be done by testing with a skewer, when cooled and cut at the fair there were small pockets which were not fully cooked. So my advice would be to bake it 1 hr and 25 minutes. This is wonderful with fresh strawberries or ice cream. It freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
This cake is delightful!! I read that others had to cook the cake a bit longer than the recipe called for, but I arrived home late. If you just intend to serve it at home or if you are covering the cake with strawberries and cream and presentation isn't as important you might do as I did. I baked it in a 9 x 13 inch pan and it was done in less than an hour. While it cooked I prepared supper and then used the pre-heated oven to cook my dinner. I made the recipe just as given except I did add more coconut extract. To be honest, as much as I LOVE the flavor of coconut, I wish I had not because I served mine with strawberries and cream and the coconut taste was a little strong. Perhaps alone or with just whipping cream the extra flavor would be more appealing. Thank you for this recipe it is really tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I'm giving this 5 stars for taste even though mine did crumble when I cut it. I love the moistness and texture. I also used dessicated coconut as another reviewer suggested. Great with whipped cream and strawberries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States