Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
nice flavor - I cut the sugar (used 2c) as i could not find any unsweetened coconut. in a do-over I might increase that abit. I think this would be super as a shortcake base. I also liked the lime glaze idea - it does need a little punching up with whatever you choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAFXGRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was fabulous and moist. I followed the advice of previous reviewers' and only used 2 1/2 cups of sugar and 2 teaspoons of coconut extract, plus I baked it in a Bundt pan. I have made many types of pound cake and as a rule, I bake them in Bundt pans every time. I have found that when baking them in tube pans, I tend to overbake them. I also started checking for doneness after about an hour in the oven and then kept letting it go back to bake five minutes at a time, for a total bake time of about an hour and fifteen minutes. I served it plain and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
very good. not too sweet. added frosting with more coconut extract to give it stronger coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This cake is excellent. I think it's the best pound cake I ever made or even tasted. I don't quite understand those who claim it is dry. I think they may not be much of a pound cake fan, because the texture here is text book accurate! I do reduce the sugar to 2.5 cups and use unsweetended, powdered coconut. I also add a tsp of vanilla to the tsp of coconut extract, as vanilla brings out other flavors beautifully. Have made it a few times already; it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Yum, yum, yum! Moist, fragrant, tender and simply delicious. Freezes well and tastes even better when you pop a slice into the microwave for a few seconds prior to serving. However, I'm taking one star off because I feel it would have been virtually inedible with 3 cups of sugar! 2 cups is just the perfect amount. I used 1 tsp of coconut extract which gave it a beautiful subtle flavour, dessicated coconut instead of the shredded and only 5 eggs (medium size), since I didn't want to risk an eggy taste. I will be making this again often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovin vanilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Using a few tweaks suggested by others, this was a crowd pleaser and gets 5 stars! I doubled the coconut extract, reduced sugar to 2 cups and processed the flaked coconut briefly in the food processor. Very flavorful and moist. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Mmmm. I've been looking for a cake recipe w/ a kick - something different than plain ol' cake. The coconut flavor is wonderful. Only used 2 cups sugar & doubled coconut extract. Made a 3-layer 8-inch round cake, tasted great with frosting. Hesitated on giving the 5th star because the cake was hard. I wonder if anyone else had that issue. I wish it was just a bit softer in texture. But the flavor is wonderful & I will def use this recipe again. If I could give it 4 1/2, I would have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bacchante

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
A lot of reviewers said was a tad dry, and I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This cake is phenomenal. I did cupcakes and it made about 30-36. Fill the baking cups about 3/4 full of batter and bake for 20 minutes at 350. My favortie cake EVER! I frosted with the special buttercream recipe from this site and instead of using vanilla extract in the frosting I used coconut extract. SO SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I baked this in layers for my mother-in-laws. It was very well received. My brother has now requested it for his wedding cake this week end. This is a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States