Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
If you love coconut you will love this cake! I did not have a tube pan so I made one bundt cake and one loaf with the batter. I used 1 1/2 tsp. of coconut extract and pulsed the 2 cups of coconut in the food processor a bit, otherwise followed the recipe as is. Make sure yourr ingredients including the eggs are room temperature before you begin...this cake is absolutely delicious. I can't wait to try it with some frozen (thawed) wild blueberries and their juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This cake is amazing!!! i learned my lesson though, DO NOT use silicone bakeware....it's awful!! But this recipe turned out great!! The only thing that I might add to this recipe would be maybe 1/2 tsp more of coconut extract! I took it to my boyfriends house for thanksgiving and his whole family loved it!!! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Took this to work and topped with the Vanilla Glaze (substituting coconut extract for the vanilla) from this site. It was phenomenal and got rave reviews from my co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Mmmm...yum! Easy to make and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
sort of dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I made this recipe using several of the suggestions in the reviews (2 1/2 cups sugar instead of the three, vanilla extract in addition to coconut, put the coconut in the food processor). It baked up beautifully and was DELICIOUS. I recommend baking it the day before you need it, because it is BEYOND DELICIOUS the next day! My father is a huge fan of coconut pound cake, and he was thrilled with this, which I baked for his birthday. Thanks to all those reviewers out there and the tips you contribute. I depend on this website and the reader-input.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was a really lovely cake and kept fresh for about a week, although it was hard to keep it for that long! I just halved the recipe and made it in a loaf tin. I did find it very sweet and I think I would cut down on the sugar as suggested my others members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
YUMMY.....i halved the recipe and baked it in a loaf pan. Baked it for about 1 hour and 20 mins. great recipe....the whole family loved it! will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Wonderful texture and flavor. I made it in two layers and they baked in 40 minutes in my convection oven. I want to use this for a tiered layer cake for my parents' 50th wedding anniversary in a few months and I may do another trial reducing the flour slightly and/or removing the yolks from a couple of the eggs, just to make it a smidgen fluffier. Perfect with coconut cream cheese icing, as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Super Delish! I made this exactly as written. it turn out so dense and moist. My family loved it. Oh and I discovered that it is fabulos with a bit of vanilla bean ice cream seved on top. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States