Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
sort of dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I made this recipe using several of the suggestions in the reviews (2 1/2 cups sugar instead of the three, vanilla extract in addition to coconut, put the coconut in the food processor). It baked up beautifully and was DELICIOUS. I recommend baking it the day before you need it, because it is BEYOND DELICIOUS the next day! My father is a huge fan of coconut pound cake, and he was thrilled with this, which I baked for his birthday. Thanks to all those reviewers out there and the tips you contribute. I depend on this website and the reader-input.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was a really lovely cake and kept fresh for about a week, although it was hard to keep it for that long! I just halved the recipe and made it in a loaf tin. I did find it very sweet and I think I would cut down on the sugar as suggested my others members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
YUMMY.....i halved the recipe and baked it in a loaf pan. Baked it for about 1 hour and 20 mins. great recipe....the whole family loved it! will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Wonderful texture and flavor. I made it in two layers and they baked in 40 minutes in my convection oven. I want to use this for a tiered layer cake for my parents' 50th wedding anniversary in a few months and I may do another trial reducing the flour slightly and/or removing the yolks from a couple of the eggs, just to make it a smidgen fluffier. Perfect with coconut cream cheese icing, as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Super Delish! I made this exactly as written. it turn out so dense and moist. My family loved it. Oh and I discovered that it is fabulos with a bit of vanilla bean ice cream seved on top. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
EXCELLENT POUND CAKE RECIPE! This is my new favorite because as written, it makes for an extra-moist and extra-flavorful cake. The only change I made was to substitute almond extract for the coconut extract. Next time I make this, I'm going to add 1 tablespoon of the almond extract. Thank for sharing this recipe; we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was delicious! As others suggested, I doubled the coconut extract and cut the sugar to 2.5 cups. The baking time was spot on for my bundt pan. Served with fresh strawberries and vanilla ice cream...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I would give this 5 stars with this adjustment...in a food processor chop the (sweetened) coconut with 2TBS canola oil. the cake will come out really moist and stay moist for days on the counter. IMO it was not too sweet, blame my sweet tooth i guess?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Excellent pound cake! Moist and dense, just like it should be. I used almond extract instead of coconut simply because I didn't have any, but the almond added wonderful flavor and really complimented the coconut. I used my bundt pan, and this turned out wonderul. Be sure to cream the butter/sugar mixture very well, I let my Kitchen Aid do all the work about 7-8 minutes. I dusted this lightly with powedered sugar when cooled, that's all this cake needs. I will use this recipe again for sure, it's delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States