Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by xmyheart
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I loved this cake! I am nuts about coconut so I was really looking forward to making this. The only thing that could have made it better is if it was just a little more moist, but I will try and beat my butter/cream cheese/sugar longer next time to incorporate more air into it and make it fluffier hopefully. This cake goes perfect with a nice big dallop of cool whip! Tastes great like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xmyheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
the cake turned out amazing,very soft and moist.though i had to make a little change.i added half a cup of milk to the cake batter as it was very very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was the perfect pound cake recipe! We made it as written in two loaf pans and it was fantastic. We made another in a bundt pan but left out the flaked coconut and added some orange food coloring swirled around and it was decadant and creamy. I'm going to save this as my go-to pound cake recipe - it will be perfect with any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was heaven! So incredibly dense, a little slice goes a long way. :) I probably gained 50 pounds eating it. lol... I WILL make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
OMG! Those were the 1st words out of my husbands mouth when he tasted this delicious piece of heaven. I used Plugra butter and Swan's cake flower and that made all the difference. Like another reviewer said use real butter. This is great the way it is. Thank you for sharing;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Andrews Air Force Base, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Don't be misled (as I was) by the reviews saying it needs to bake longer. Set your timer and then test. I cooked mine an extra 15 minutes per many reviews and it was too dry. Good flavor. I am slicing the cake and going to use if for a trifle but may not even try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
On the dry side but dense and moist on the inside. The sweetened coconut flakes add a punch of "sugary" sweetness. Doesn't seem worth all the fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oingobong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is an amazing pound cake!! So easy to make and it was moist and the flavour incredible. I did make the mistake when halving the recipe, I put in the full package of cream cheese. Frankly it made no difference. (Thank goodness!) Tasty and incredible, a must try for anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peninnah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This cake turned out great!!! I did not have any cream cheese so I utilized sour cream instead. I did add more coconut extract. I did not add the shredded coconut to my cake batter. I used five eggs instead of six. I also made a great glaze out of coconut milk and confectioners sugar. I glazed the cake and sprinkled shredded coconut onto the glazed cake. The cake was moist and everyone loved the glaze!!!! It's popular ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
If you love coconut you will love this cake! I did not have a tube pan so I made one bundt cake and one loaf with the batter. I used 1 1/2 tsp. of coconut extract and pulsed the 2 cups of coconut in the food processor a bit, otherwise followed the recipe as is. Make sure yourr ingredients including the eggs are room temperature before you begin...this cake is absolutely delicious. I can't wait to try it with some frozen (thawed) wild blueberries and their juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States