Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
OMG! Those were the 1st words out of my husbands mouth when he tasted this delicious piece of heaven. I used Plugra butter and Swan's cake flower and that made all the difference. Like another reviewer said use real butter. This is great the way it is. Thank you for sharing;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Andrews Air Force Base, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Don't be misled (as I was) by the reviews saying it needs to bake longer. Set your timer and then test. I cooked mine an extra 15 minutes per many reviews and it was too dry. Good flavor. I am slicing the cake and going to use if for a trifle but may not even try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
On the dry side but dense and moist on the inside. The sweetened coconut flakes add a punch of "sugary" sweetness. Doesn't seem worth all the fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oingobong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is an amazing pound cake!! So easy to make and it was moist and the flavour incredible. I did make the mistake when halving the recipe, I put in the full package of cream cheese. Frankly it made no difference. (Thank goodness!) Tasty and incredible, a must try for anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peninnah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This cake turned out great!!! I did not have any cream cheese so I utilized sour cream instead. I did add more coconut extract. I did not add the shredded coconut to my cake batter. I used five eggs instead of six. I also made a great glaze out of coconut milk and confectioners sugar. I glazed the cake and sprinkled shredded coconut onto the glazed cake. The cake was moist and everyone loved the glaze!!!! It's popular ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
If you love coconut you will love this cake! I did not have a tube pan so I made one bundt cake and one loaf with the batter. I used 1 1/2 tsp. of coconut extract and pulsed the 2 cups of coconut in the food processor a bit, otherwise followed the recipe as is. Make sure yourr ingredients including the eggs are room temperature before you begin...this cake is absolutely delicious. I can't wait to try it with some frozen (thawed) wild blueberries and their juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This cake is amazing!!! i learned my lesson though, DO NOT use silicone bakeware....it's awful!! But this recipe turned out great!! The only thing that I might add to this recipe would be maybe 1/2 tsp more of coconut extract! I took it to my boyfriends house for thanksgiving and his whole family loved it!!! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Took this to work and topped with the Vanilla Glaze (substituting coconut extract for the vanilla) from this site. It was phenomenal and got rave reviews from my co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Mmmm...yum! Easy to make and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
sort of dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States