Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I am not really a coconut person, but this cake is wonderful. Even my husband who really doesn't like coconut said it was great. I did use only 2 cups of sugar and inreased the exract to 1 1/2 tsp. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
The only reason I gave this cake four stars is because mine came out a bit too crumbly...but I feel that may have been due to chef error as opposed to recipe error. :) Also, I wasn't able to find coconut extract at the supermarket so I used "buko pandan' extract (I live in the Philippines) and even though the cake was green it was delicious!!!! This might be something for Filipino chefs to consider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer P.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
OMG! This pound cake is awesome! If you love coconut this cake is for you. I followed the recipe exactly and used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer to beat everything so it was nice and fluffy. I also let everything get to room temperature before mixing. It baked up beautifully in exactly 1 hour and 20 minutes and the smell in the house was nothing less than heavenly. Make no mistake, this cake is rich and dense so it's not something you'd make on a regular basis but it definitely fits the bill for special occasions. I served it with fresh strawberries, whipped cream and toasted coconut - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by stephanie
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is a keeper! I will make this moist cake for all my parties. I poured a glaze on the cake then sprinkled it with coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Actually found this to be a bit on the dry side. Flavor was ok, not sure I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is excellent! I just finished making this, following a few of the suggestions, such as reducing the sugar to 2.5 cups and processing the coconut for the batter. The taste and texture are superb! The sweetness is perfect. I frosted with a coconut/cream cheese frosting from this site and topped with toasted coconut. Decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
made exactly as directed; used a silicone bundt pan. I had to bake addt'l 20 mins. in order for cake to be done; Good coconut flavor, but outside was dark and crusty before inside of cake was done... I was okay with it, but most people were not.... I probably will not make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
FANTASTIC! I really wanted a good coconut flavor, so I used 3/4 teaspoon of coconut oil instead of the extract, and that was perfect for us! It smelled so wonderful while baking, that we couldn't even wait for it to cool to try some, lol. I'm serving this with macerated strawberries and whipped cream for dessert and can hardly wait. I agree that beating your ingredients for a LONG time is key in making this poundcake exceptional. I will be making this very often! thanks for sahring. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by xmyheart
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I loved this cake! I am nuts about coconut so I was really looking forward to making this. The only thing that could have made it better is if it was just a little more moist, but I will try and beat my butter/cream cheese/sugar longer next time to incorporate more air into it and make it fluffier hopefully. This cake goes perfect with a nice big dallop of cool whip! Tastes great like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xmyheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
the cake turned out amazing,very soft and moist.though i had to make a little change.i added half a cup of milk to the cake batter as it was very very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States