Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Very disapointing. This cake was extremely dry and crumbly. I followed the directions exactly and baked it for the stated amount of time. I believe that the problem may be that it needs another stick of butter. My "go to" cream cheese pound cake calls for the same amount of all ingredients except for butter. I may try it again and add a stick of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
When other users said this recipe was dense they really meant it! I'm all for a dense cake but not when it feels like you are serving up rock buns. The flavor was good but it was too dense and not at all moist. I used low fat cream cheese because I had it in the house already, perhaps this contributed to its density issues. If I were to do it again, I'd add double the amount of baking soda and 50g of coconut cream for flavor and moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was good, not the best pound cake I have tasted. The coconut adds a nice twist. Needed 15 more min as I used a bundt pan. Cut sugar by half a cup, as per other reviews. Kids approved. Maybe I will add crushed pineapple next time and a little vanilla :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE4KYLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I am not really a coconut person, but this cake is wonderful. Even my husband who really doesn't like coconut said it was great. I did use only 2 cups of sugar and inreased the exract to 1 1/2 tsp. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
The only reason I gave this cake four stars is because mine came out a bit too crumbly...but I feel that may have been due to chef error as opposed to recipe error. :) Also, I wasn't able to find coconut extract at the supermarket so I used "buko pandan' extract (I live in the Philippines) and even though the cake was green it was delicious!!!! This might be something for Filipino chefs to consider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer P.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
OMG! This pound cake is awesome! If you love coconut this cake is for you. I followed the recipe exactly and used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer to beat everything so it was nice and fluffy. I also let everything get to room temperature before mixing. It baked up beautifully in exactly 1 hour and 20 minutes and the smell in the house was nothing less than heavenly. Make no mistake, this cake is rich and dense so it's not something you'd make on a regular basis but it definitely fits the bill for special occasions. I served it with fresh strawberries, whipped cream and toasted coconut - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by stephanie
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is a keeper! I will make this moist cake for all my parties. I poured a glaze on the cake then sprinkled it with coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Actually found this to be a bit on the dry side. Flavor was ok, not sure I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is excellent! I just finished making this, following a few of the suggestions, such as reducing the sugar to 2.5 cups and processing the coconut for the batter. The taste and texture are superb! The sweetness is perfect. I frosted with a coconut/cream cheese frosting from this site and topped with toasted coconut. Decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
made exactly as directed; used a silicone bundt pan. I had to bake addt'l 20 mins. in order for cake to be done; Good coconut flavor, but outside was dark and crusty before inside of cake was done... I was okay with it, but most people were not.... I probably will not make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States