Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
What a good coconut cake recipe. It is very rich and full of coconut flavor. The only problem I had was with the baking time. It ended up taking closer to one hour and 40 minutes or so, making me wonder if the temperature is correct (seems a bit low). Or maybe it is just my oven and I need to make some adjustments. At any rate, we really enjoyed this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly, but it took me two hours to cook! The crust was so dry, but the inside would not firm up. Although I liked the taste of the inside, the overcooked crust really spoiled this cake. As written its not something I will bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Pumpkyn
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Excellent cake! I did not read previous reviews, wish I had because the cake is VERY sweet...but rich, delicious, and has a great dense texture. Perfect with a cup of coffee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Great pound cake flavor with a wonderful texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
For those that read through the reviews, the best advice I can give is to say that a bundt pan is not a 10” tube pan. The fluted sides and narrower bottom of a bundt pan make it smaller in capacity than a standard 10” tube pan. That doesn’t mean you can't use a bundt pan (I did), it just means that you need to adjust your bake time and/or temp or you’re not going to get the same result. This was my first time making a “real” pound cake and it was delicious. My intention was to serve with berries, but it was a bigger hit just served plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This cake is as the other reviews have said moist, it is sumptuous and I have received great reviews , this is a keeper , I find it a bit sweet so I would reduce the amount of sugar the recipe gives , thanks os much for sharing !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Too good! I made a quick cream cheese maple syrum frosting and we loved it!! I halved the recipe and made it in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made this cake and my family loved it...so much so my step-daughter wants me to make this for her wedding cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Made this for a friend who doesn't like overly sweet desserts so I decreased the sugar to 1.5 cups. I must admit that I didnt' miss the sugar. Other than the cake being a little dry, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I took the advice of others and cut the sugar to 2 cups. I also doubled the coconut extract to 2 tsp. Also, I made sure to sift the flour to avoid baking a very dense cake. I also left out the coconut flakes, because, although I like the taste of coconut, I don't like the texture. It was good, but I wouldn't call it a "cream cake." It was a crumbly pound cake. I mixed a quick vanilla glaze to serve it with. The cake soaked up the glaze, which made it much more decadent and sweet. If I bake it again, I think I will add the extra cup of sugar to make it sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States