Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
AWE-SOME! As some other reviewers suggested, I used a can of coconut milk and the balance of regular milk. I also covered the pie with whipped topping and additional toasted coconut. Not only was it a show-stopper, but it was soooo delicious. I will be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
BEST ever..Better than the pastry chef at my fiances country club which he thought was the Best until now. For the Liquid Used 1 Can of PET Evaporated Milk. PET Taste the best. Cup of Silk brand Vanilla Flavored Coconut Milk, Cup of Heavy Whipping Cream. Also Used Coconut Extract in place of Vanilla. Use Sweetened Coconut for sure. Also, I used the Pillsbury Pie Crust. Could win a prize !! Used the double boiler idea posted to cook it, using the microwave. Excellent Excellent !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykasba
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Overall, this recipe is definitely a keeper. Instead of all vanilla, we did half a teaspoon of vanilla and one teaspoon of coconut extract to give it more coconut flavor. I also think instead of flaked coconut inside the pie, I should have used shredded, because then it wouldn't have been so chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Great recipe. Easy to follow and made a FANTASTIC pie. I followed the recipe in Betty Crocker for the merengue. We ate the pie the next day. Everyone raved. Huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
i really love coconut cream pie but i have never had a homeade one so i decided to make one. It was a hit for my family it went so quick so decided to make another. when i made the first one i wanted to make homeade whipcream but it didnt work out because it started to look like cottage cheese i think i whipped it to long so DONT WHIP IT TO LONG. So i used cool whip in a pastry bag and it was delich but would have been better with a little less coconut and homeade whipp cream. In the second one i put a tad bit to much vanilla butit still tasted GREAT!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fizza
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Great now!! I'm stuck with making this delish dessert at ALL family gatherings!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
i took the advice of one of the users and replaced 1.5 cups of milk with coconut milk. the batter is sweet and rich with coconut flavor. next up, i'm topping the pie with meringue and toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. I have never written a review but was so impressed with this pie that I had to comment. I followed the recipe exactly. Took this pie to a pig roast and everyone raved. I also used this as a base to make a peanut butter pie. I simply used half a cup of peanut butter in place of the coconut. The results were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
LOVED this recipe. Unlike the other reviews I liked that the coconut flavor was mild. I just added some coconut to top of the pie and it was perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was a wonderful pie. I followed the directions as stated except I used a can of coconut milk and then used regular milk to equal the 3 cups. I baked a pie shell to use and it broke, so I used a chocolate cookie crust I had on hand. Very good and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States