Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Awesome as is! Maybe a little more coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Rich and creamy, no need to use cream in place of milk. If you let the pie sit until the next day, the coconut comes through even more. I didn't want to waste the egg whites so I made a meringue Using 1/4 C. sugar and egg whites beating until stiff peaks form and baking until peaks start to turn golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
this recipe was great! I added the coconut milk like another reviewer did. Great texture, If I was to do it again I'd use unsweetened coconut. Very good though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Absolutely wonderful recipe. My husband loves it as I am sure will the children when I surprise them after dinner. I added 1/4 cup extra coconut and roasted some to top with but other than that followed the recipe exactly. I have never made a coconut cream pie before but see no reason to ever try another recipe. Thank you Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
First time I've made a really GOOD Coconut Cream Pie. Thanks Mary!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
We love this pie! We made the second one with a layer of chocolate pudding pie filling on top, and homemade whipped cream on top of that. We were still able to scarf up 5 small bowls of the filling right off the stove. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I used this recipe and found it delish...I cook it in a glass bowl in the microwave. Just stir it a few times while cooking. I also add some artificial coconut flavouring for extra flavour. Everyone I serve this to gets rave reviews....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This turned out well - with some of the adjustments suggested by others. I was a little concerned about the "floury" comments so used a scant 1/2 cup. I don't know if that was necessary though, because there was no consistency problem and no taste of flour paste. I also took the advice of toasting the coconut and adding another 1/3 cup. I used a can of coconut milk and added enough milk to make up to the 3 cups. I also added in a Tablespoon of Coconut Rum along with a really good quality vanilla. With those adjustments this came out well - nice coconut flavor but not overly sweet or unbearably rich. If you really want the taste of cocunut, I think you need to make some of the adjustments others have suggested. Without those, we would have been disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Daughter made it for us and it was very good. She used the cream of coconut in it. I love coconut and will make this pie soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
As usual with a new recipe, I followed this one as written, with one exception. When I stirred in the one cup of coconut, it didn't seem quite enough, so I added about 1/3 cup more. I used a heavy, stainless steel saucepan, kept the heat on medium the whole time, and stirred like a maniac; and there was NO scorching, as some of the reviewers reported. It turned out absolutely perfect. I would have given this recipe five stars, except for the need for more coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States