Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I made this Incredible Coconut Cream pie today for my husband's birthday. It came out creamy and rich and perfectly coco-nutty! Instead of 3 cups of milk, I substituted one can of coconut milk (about 1 2/3 cup) and the balance with heavy whipping cream for a total of 3 cups liquid. It blended beautifully and I did not need to strain the custard. I also upped the coconut to 1 1/4 cups (we REALLY like coconut!) I used a ready-made Oreo cookie crust and it was the perfect host. I topped it off with toasted coconut for one more layer of flavor. Will absolutely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Decent, but far too sweet for my tastes. I think that I would use 3/4 or even 1/2 of the sugar next time. I bumped the coconut content up to 1 1/2 cups (following other reviews), but that ended up being a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
never made a coconut cream pie before, but it's my fav. turned out great! amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I did make a few changes based on the reviews that I read. I used a can of coconut milk and whole milk. I also used the corn starch instead of flour. I followed the recipe otherwise. I made it last night, and tasted the filling which was super yum even hot, and let it set in the fridge over night. I will serve it for Easter dinner tonight. It is definitely set up `and nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Great recipe . The only change I made for a little more sweetness was an additional tablespoon of sugar and a 1/2 tsp. of vanilla . Yummy and so easy , not sure why some had problems with the filling setting up , I had no problem but after it came to a boil I let it boil about 1 more minute while stirring continuously .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Custard is delicious but it was still runny after being refrigerated over night for 6 hours. The only changes I made to the recipe were I added one cup of coconut milk in place of one cup of milk and I used 1/3 cup of cornstarch instead of flour as suggested by previous reviews. I will try more cornstarch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Never made it or had it. My 9 year old decided we should make it. Seemed easy and it was! Incredibly delicious. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This didn't set up for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth McCall

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Excellent pie! I'm not a fan of "too much" coconut taste, so this is perfect: the taste is delicate and the pie is delectable. Two things: I used only 3/4 cups of sugar, and I didn't strain the mixture. I didn't see the need. It was creamy and smooth from the beginning, and thickened up in no time at all. I'm a great fan of the double-boiler method, though, so perhaps this is the difference. As another reviewer noted, if you don't have a double boiler, just use a metal mixing bowl over a pot of simmering water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Easy and delicious. To ramp up the coconut flavor, I used a can of coconut milk in place of two cups of the milk, and soy milk for the rest. The pie isn't pretty, so I whipped a small container of Richs Whip and spread it over the pie. That left it pretty and added a great creaminess. The whole family liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States