Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This didn't set up for me. Think I could recook it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth McCall

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Excellent pie! I'm not a fan of "too much" coconut taste, so this is perfect: the taste is delicate and the pie is delectable. Two things: I used only 3/4 cups of sugar, and I didn't strain the mixture. I didn't see the need. It was creamy and smooth from the beginning, and thickened up in no time at all. I'm a great fan of the double-boiler method, though, so perhaps this is the difference. As another reviewer noted, if you don't have a double boiler, just use a metal mixing bowl over a pot of simmering water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Easy and delicious. To ramp up the coconut flavor, I used a can of coconut milk in place of two cups of the milk, and soy milk for the rest. The pie isn't pretty, so I whipped a small container of Richs Whip and spread it over the pie. That left it pretty and added a great creaminess. The whole family liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
2nd best coconut cream pie i have ever had, Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Hurtt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is a wonderful, easy to make pie. I only made 2 small changes to the recipe. I used whole milk for the extra creaminess and used 1 t of coconut flavoring and 1/2 t of vanilla. I wanted the additional coconut taste in the filling and it was so good! I took this pie to work and had requests for the recipe right away. A must have recipe for any coconut lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This recipe is very good. Few tips for the novice cooks out there, first of all use corn starch instead of flour if you have it about 1/3 of a cup. Mix corn starch with the sugar thoroughly . Do not add it to the milk until milk is hot and stir constantly using a whisk, spoons only make it lumpy. Once the taste of corn starch is cooked out of the mixture add a little of the mixture to the egg yolks before and stir together to bring up the temperature of the eggs before adding to mixture this will also avoid lumps, cook for another 5 minutes while stirring all the time , remove from heat add vanillia and toasted coconut to the mixture, this will bring out the taste of coconut in your pie. There is no need to add coconut flavouring, if you want it to taste like something you bought in a store be my guest, but then why are you making a pie at home. Let it set overnight in refridgerator it will taste 100% better (like coconut cream pie should } the next day! Bon appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Made this for Thanksgiving. It was a huge hit! I personally do not like coconut at all, but this pie was so good I literally ate 3 pieces myself :) this is my new favorite. I am definitely this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I've used this recipe several times now. It's easy and delicious. When doubling the recipe I get 3 pies instead of 2. They are all very full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this pie exactly as directed. The flavor was good, but the pie was very dense and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Shaw Ardman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I did use cornstarch instead of flour. The only thing that I added was 2 Tablespoons of Coconut Rum. It came out silky smooth and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loon Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States