Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Recipe good but did almost triple the coconut (I used a fresh one, just seems like too little coconut and too much custard). Also, thought... make a topping with the egg whites! There is a fluffy egg white icing that is great on this recipe site. Does seem like you need a topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
As good as the ones from restaurant ;) I put 2 cups of coconut milk and 1 cup milk, otherwise I cant really taste the coconut. And I topped with wipped cream and toasted shredded coconuts, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XxlilaxX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
First time making coconut cream pie. Both myself and my husbands favorite. I had read the reviews prior to making and used the coconut milk instead of regular milk. I am so glad I did it certainly added to the flavor. Got the thumb up from my husband so it is a keeper that I will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Easy "homemade" coconut cream pie. Had all ingredients on hand. Made a homemade pie crust only because I was too lazy to go to the store and buy one. Another easy recipe off this wonderful site. Next time I'll use a double boiler for the cream pie mixture cause my stove, even on low has a tendency to run a little too hot, so I had to continue to watch for burning as I stirred. One little trick I use when pre-baking the pie crust is after the first bake I brush egg white mixed with a little water onto the baked pie crust. Put it back into the oven just long enough to dry the egg mixture. Doing this keeps the cream pie from seeping into the crust and making it soggy. That's only if it's not eaten quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I've made this multiple times and it's now requested often. Always a hit for the coconut lovers. I follow the recipe and have done this both in Martha Stewart's perfect pie crust and graham cracker. Both are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Amazing!!! I made this for Thanksgiving and my family was fighting over it! My uncle did not believe i made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
CC pie is my all-time favorite dessert; I've made a good many of them in the last 45 years in the kitchen. But even I learned a few things by trying this recipe. I read the reviews, and on the strength of those, I changed one thing: Instead of using 3 cups of milk for the custard portion as I have done for decades, I used 1.5 cups milk and a can (roughly 15 oz) of coconut milk. The addition of coconut milk increases the coconut flavor without adding a bunch of (texturally unpleasant) coconut shreds. But even better, it causes the custard part of the pie to hold its shape better than most CC pie recipes. This is great if you have pie left the second day. Also, stabilizing the whipped cream (topping) is highly desirable. It causes the whipped cream to hold its shape, not slump or weep within 24 hours. I used 1 tsp of unflavored gelatin, softened in 2 T cold water. Once it had jelled in a glass Pyrex cup (about 5 mins) I heated it in the microwave for 25 seconds, cooled it a minute, then let it fall in a steady slow stream into the bowl of 1 cup of heavy whipping cream as I whipped the cream for the topping. The two pieces of leftover CC pie were as well formed and attractive the day after I made the pie as they were the day I made it. Absolutely: stabilize your whipped cream topping. This recipe truly is stupendous. I will not use any other for CC pie in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GIVETHANKS
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
It was a big hit at Thanksgiving this year. Favored over the traditional apple and pumpkin. My teen granddaughters found it and we made it together. It came out great. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
My husband made this the first time and it came out great. We used a can of coconut milk instead of all milk. The second time I made the pie it didn't set. I saw that other people had this problem and I believe it is because it was not cooked on the stove long enough. The filing is good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States