Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Excellent taste and texture. This is surely a keeper and will be made often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Mary, you done yourself proud! This is a great recipe and I will make this again and again. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
This is the best coconut cream pie I've ever had. I found this recipe some time ago, but I lost it. I was so excited to find it again. Easter lunch would have been a disappointment without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
Coconut Cream pie has always been my favorite, and this recipe was FANTASTIC! Of course, I am not the greatest cook, and I managed to bust the crust and cooked the wrong part of the egg (ha ha) before re-reading the recipe, but the filling ended up tasting incredible, despite the chef! :O) I also fixed some whipping cream with 4 tablespoons of white granulated sugar for topping. I know that I am probably the ONLY person dumb enough to add the whipped topping right away (before the pie cools, in which case it melts into a cream), but just in case I'm not, a word to the wise: WAIT UNTIL THE PIE COOLS before you add the whipped cream topping. My pie wasn't really very attractive looking, but TALK ABOUT TASTY!!!! I highly recommend this recipe to anyone who loves coconut cream pies. Now I have to go make my "common sense" notes so that I don't rough up the crust or mess up the eggs again next time I try this recipe. It usually takes me two tries on a new recipe anyway. I guess we'll have to eat the practice pie tonight and try again tomorrow! OH DARN!! HA HA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
WONDERFUL! THIS IS NOW MY FAVORITE COCONUT PIE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
this recipe is outstanding! i would highly recommend it to anyone that likes coconut cream pie. :) i'm an inexperienced chef, but it was very easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Out of this world! This was my first attempt at a cream pie. Went off without a hitch. Flavor & texture were perfect. I made mine using 2 cups heavy cream & 1 cup milk. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Oh my! I had never made a coconut cream pie before, and this one was definitely a success. I made it with two cups skim milk and one cup cream and it was incredibly rich. You could only eat a small sliver. Next time I will use only milk and I think it will be plenty rich and creamy, and lower fat. My recommendation is to make this the night before. Because the coconut is not cooked with the custard, the custard does not have a coconut flavor right away. While it sits overnight the coconut has a chance to re-constitute, plumping it up and infusing the pie with coconut flavor. I topped it with whipped cream and toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
I like a recipe that works the FIRST time. I made this pie exactly as the recipe stated and it turned out perfectly. It easily filled my pie crust to the brim, set up beautifuly and tasted great. I topped it off with my own recipe for cream: 1 cup of cold heavy cream, 3 Tbs of powdered sugar, 1 large marshmallow melted and mixed in. I garnished with toasted coconut. Even the first slice looked gorgeous when I served it. I would definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States