Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by GIVETHANKS
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
It was a big hit at Thanksgiving this year. Favored over the traditional apple and pumpkin. My teen granddaughters found it and we made it together. It came out great. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
My husband made this the first time and it came out great. We used a can of coconut milk instead of all milk. The second time I made the pie it didn't set. I saw that other people had this problem and I believe it is because it was not cooked on the stove long enough. The filing is good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made this recipe twice, and my family loved it both times. The boyfriend was especially impressed. I followed the recipe closely, but I did substitute the flour for 1/3 cup of cornstarch. I added whipped cream and a light sprinkle of grated chocolate and toasted coconut flakes on top. The pie never lasts for very long. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I made this today for Thanksgiving dessert especially for my father in law. I followed the recipe EXACTLY as it says, it NEVER set up! It was like a runny pudding in a shell. The flavour was ok. I was embarrassed and in tears,dessert was ruined. Doubt I'll ever try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
it is so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Great recipe! Using a double broiler makes pie set faster, but using saucepan is quicker and easier. Let set for 7 hours before topping with cool whip and toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Excellent pie as is. I made it per the recipe. I agree that it's a custard pie, like some of the reviewers said, but a great custard nevertheless. I put the custard mix in a glass bowl in the microwave and did the 5 minutes stirring each 60 seconds; turned out perfect this way, and much quicker and less mess to clean up. I think next time I make it I will add at least another 1/2 cup of sweetened coconut, and maybe coconut milk in place of some milk for more flavor. I saved the 4 egg whites and made a meringue to go on top of the pie. Very, very good! UPDATE: 2nd pie made with 1 c. coconut milk + 2 c. half and half. Also increased the coconut to 1.5 cups. I liked the first pie with 3 c. milk better; this was rich and thick, but it was too much for me. I did like the extra 1/2 c. flaked coconut in the filling, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Coconut Cream is one of my husband's favorites .. well really ANY kind of pie is his favorite LOL .. In the past I have had difficulty getting custard like pies to thicken and set - I was pleased when this one was a success. I used 2 cups of coconut milk and 1 of skim and toasted old fashioned unsweetened thick shred coconut - saving some for the top ... this will be a recipe I will use a LOT! Next time I think I will cut back just a little on the sugar and maybe make a small one with Splenda for my mom who is diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
A very good old-fashioned coconut pie. I made it for my Dad for Father's Day and topped it with the "Unbaked Meringue" from Allrecipes. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This is by far not only the best coconut cream pie I have ever made, but also the best I have ever eaten! I prepared with minor changes. I did not turn on the heat until the first cup of milk was added to avoid burning the sugar/flour mixture. I used only 1 tsp of vanilla extract and added 1/2 tsp of coconut extract to amp up the coconut flavor. When I made my whipped cream, I also added a little of the coconut extract and topped it with some toasted coconut. Absolutely fantastic. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly McGhee Goosby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States