Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
it is so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Great recipe! Using a double broiler makes pie set faster, but using saucepan is quicker and easier. Let set for 7 hours before topping with cool whip and toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Excellent pie as is. I made it per the recipe. I agree that it's a custard pie, like some of the reviewers said, but a great custard nevertheless. I put the custard mix in a glass bowl in the microwave and did the 5 minutes stirring each 60 seconds; turned out perfect this way, and much quicker and less mess to clean up. I think next time I make it I will add at least another 1/2 cup of sweetened coconut, and maybe coconut milk in place of some milk for more flavor. I saved the 4 egg whites and made a meringue to go on top of the pie. Very, very good! UPDATE: 2nd pie made with 1 c. coconut milk + 2 c. half and half. Also increased the coconut to 1.5 cups. I liked the first pie with 3 c. milk better; this was rich and thick, but it was too much for me. I did like the extra 1/2 c. flaked coconut in the filling, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Coconut Cream is one of my husband's favorites .. well really ANY kind of pie is his favorite LOL .. In the past I have had difficulty getting custard like pies to thicken and set - I was pleased when this one was a success. I used 2 cups of coconut milk and 1 of skim and toasted old fashioned unsweetened thick shred coconut - saving some for the top ... this will be a recipe I will use a LOT! Next time I think I will cut back just a little on the sugar and maybe make a small one with Splenda for my mom who is diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
A very good old-fashioned coconut pie. I made it for my Dad for Father's Day and topped it with the "Unbaked Meringue" from Allrecipes. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This is by far not only the best coconut cream pie I have ever made, but also the best I have ever eaten! I prepared with minor changes. I did not turn on the heat until the first cup of milk was added to avoid burning the sugar/flour mixture. I used only 1 tsp of vanilla extract and added 1/2 tsp of coconut extract to amp up the coconut flavor. When I made my whipped cream, I also added a little of the coconut extract and topped it with some toasted coconut. Absolutely fantastic. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This pie was great!! I took the next step and whipped the 4 egg whites into a meringue about 4 inches tall, toasted in a 375 oven for about 15 min or so, until it was golden brown. Mmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Realy good and not that difficult to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This pie does not set well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by slackgeek
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Really good - I've made this a couple of times now. I follow the recipe exactly, perhaps adding a bit more coconut. Use unsweetened coconut flakes for less sweetness, or sweetened if you prefer it sweeter. I like the idea of using coconut milk in place of some of the milk - I'll have to try that sometime! So Delicious makes an unsweetened coconut milk beverage that would be a great replacement. I top with whipped cream, then sprinkle with toasted coconut and mini chocolate chips. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States