Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Mmm, delicious. First time I ever made a cream pie from scratch. Turned out fabulous. I was a little apprehensive about some of the mixture sticking to the pot and then ending up with little lumps but once the coconut is added you can't notice it. You must stir this mixture at all times to avoid this. Topped it with whipped cream and sprinkled some toasted coconut on top. I will most certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shamusmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Taste was delicious by custard didn't "set up" to be firm. I don't know if I did something wrong. Recipe said to separate eggs, and whip them up separately. After tempering the yolks with the hot milk mixture, I added the rest of the yolks and then the whipped egg whites. I don't know if I shouldn't have added the whites. That made it frothy and thinner. I don't see the instructions in the recipe about what to do with the whites. Any advice is appreciated. Taste, however, was delicious. I also added coconut extract in place of some of the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Outstanding! This was the first time I've made a coconut cream pie. Two people commented that it was the best they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was my first attempt at a cream pie. I found the recipe easy to follow and my first cream pie was a roaring success. I did make one change. I used Splenda, instead of sugar and it was still great. Will definitly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I used one can of coconut milk for half of the milk requirement. Overall, this recipe is too sweet. Next time I will reduce the amount of sugar to maybe 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
i love it i would give it five stars it worthy don't CHANGE IT that is all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lablover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
this pie was great...I grated some dark chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyce
Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Laconia, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is an excellent pie. My local grocer had half-and-half on sale, so I prepared the pie with that instead of milk. If you like thick, rich and creamy ... this is the ticket. I also had a couple of pre-made graham cracker shells left over from holiday baking, so the first time I made this pie I used the graham cracker crust. It was so good that I'll probably use graham crackers every time. Coconut cream is my husband's favorite and I was not a fan of coconut cream at all until I made this recipe. This pie is so good that it can definitely change one's mind about coconut cream. We top with freshly whipped heavy cream and a few flakes of toasted coconut, for a beautiful presentation. However, this pie is tasty enough to be served plain. Thanks to Mary for submitting this recipe. I'll be preparing this pie for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very Good!! I chopped my coconut in food chopper. It made it very coconut tasting. This is a GREAT recipe. One of my favorites!! It's worth a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Everyone loved it..only lasted an hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslove

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States