Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was a wonderful pie. I followed the directions as stated except I used a can of coconut milk and then used regular milk to equal the 3 cups. I baked a pie shell to use and it broke, so I used a chocolate cookie crust I had on hand. Very good and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I liked making this recipe for the first time with real coconut that I managed to crack open and use for the topping as well. The only thing I would change is the flour to 3 tablespoons along with 3 tablespoons of cornstarch to make the filliing thicker for a denser texture that will hold up to the whipped cream that I put on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheerios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This pie is SO good and SO easy! Every other recipe I looked at called for ingredients I didn't have or was just too much work. This one is great because it was all stuff I had! What's even better is you can omit the coconut and make it into a totally different pie! I used a graham cracker crust and it was delicious! I also added a meringue topping with toasted coconut and pecans and the pie held up great. It did take a while to set fully which was annoying because I wanted it right away! I suggest using a double boiler though because unless you're constantly stirring your mixture will burn. ALSO the egg whites aren't supposed to be used so throw them into a meringue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samtindall32089

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This coconut cream pie taste really good will go crazy for another piece of that pie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I love this recipe. It came out beautifully. The second time I made it though, I used less vanilla, and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
this pie is so good, it always gets great reviews at gatherings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NafKY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BananaNut
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Everyone who tries this pie says it's amazing! I added 1/4 cup more coconut and 1 teaspoon more vanilla, and topped it with homemade whipped cream. This is my dad's absolute favourite of all the desserts I make; he goes CRAZY for it and even brags about it to other people whenever the subject of my baking comes up in conversation. Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe--it tastes heavenly and has earned me a great reputation as a baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BananaNut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
awesome! I used a bit more coconut, and followed another reviewer's advice about the double boiler. It was easy and so creamy. Needless to say, there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Mmm, delicious. First time I ever made a cream pie from scratch. Turned out fabulous. I was a little apprehensive about some of the mixture sticking to the pot and then ending up with little lumps but once the coconut is added you can't notice it. You must stir this mixture at all times to avoid this. Topped it with whipped cream and sprinkled some toasted coconut on top. I will most certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shamusmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Taste was delicious by custard didn't "set up" to be firm. I don't know if I did something wrong. Recipe said to separate eggs, and whip them up separately. After tempering the yolks with the hot milk mixture, I added the rest of the yolks and then the whipped egg whites. I don't know if I shouldn't have added the whites. That made it frothy and thinner. I don't see the instructions in the recipe about what to do with the whites. Any advice is appreciated. Taste, however, was delicious. I also added coconut extract in place of some of the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States