Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Coconut pie is my husbands favorite and I have used many different recipes over the years and have learned a few tips over the years that help cut down on the amount of time you spend standing over the stove. When I make any custard style pie, I use a stainless steel mixing bowl that will serve as a double boiler, that will fit over a large saucepan, like an 8 quart pan. Use just enough water so the the bottom of the mixing bowl is not touching the water. Bring water to a boil. Using a microwave safe 1 qt measuring cup, heat milk until scaled (tiny bubbles around rim of cup). Be careful not to let milk boil. Add sugar, flour and salt to the stainless steel mixing bowl stir to combine, set bowl over boiling water, add the hot milk and stir with a whisk until smooth. It only takes a few minutes for the mixture to thicken and then you can follow the remainging part of the recipe. You must be careful as the hot steam will escape for the sides of the bowl and you can get burnt if you are not careful. Use a pot holder or dish towel to hold on the mixing bowl while you stir it. Since using this method, I've never burnt or scorched any filling that I was making and cooking time has been cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
414 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Coconut cream pie is by father's favorite pie and this is the second time I have used this recipe. I selected this recipe because it makes a bigger pie and I like to use a deeper pie plate. My family (& especially my dad!) just love it. I used whole milk and the filling is so creamy - really delish! I increased the coconut to one & a half cups and felt it had plenty of coconut taste. I used the 4 egg whites to make a meringue topping, sprinkled coconut over the top and browned it in the oven. It looked great and tasted better. Thanks Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
A fantastic coconut cream pie. I made my crust with 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs, 1/3 cup white sugar and 6 tbsp melted butter, mixed and pressed into a pie plate and baked @375 for 7 min. Keep stirring the mixture while it's on the stove or dark-brown blobs will end up in the pie and you'll have a very messy pot to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
It was very good, but it did not really have a coconut taste... I made 1 change: instead of using 3 cups of milk, I only used 2 cups + 1 cup coconut milk. If you don't expect a strong coconut taste, it is a very good pie. Be sure to use a non stick pan. I used stainless steel and the sugar burnt at the bottom, giving the pie a slight burned taste. That wasn't the recipe's fault though. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
Coconut Cream pie has always been my favorite, and this recipe was FANTASTIC! Of course, I am not the greatest cook, and I managed to bust the crust and cooked the wrong part of the egg (ha ha) before re-reading the recipe, but the filling ended up tasting incredible, despite the chef! :O) I also fixed some whipping cream with 4 tablespoons of white granulated sugar for topping. I know that I am probably the ONLY person dumb enough to add the whipped topping right away (before the pie cools, in which case it melts into a cream), but just in case I'm not, a word to the wise: WAIT UNTIL THE PIE COOLS before you add the whipped cream topping. My pie wasn't really very attractive looking, but TALK ABOUT TASTY!!!! I highly recommend this recipe to anyone who loves coconut cream pies. Now I have to go make my "common sense" notes so that I don't rough up the crust or mess up the eggs again next time I try this recipe. It usually takes me two tries on a new recipe anyway. I guess we'll have to eat the practice pie tonight and try again tomorrow! OH DARN!! HA HA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I took previous posters advice and used 1/3 cup cornstarch in place of flour, used 1 1/2 cup milk and same of coconut milk, added 1 tsp of coconut extract and toasted the coconut. I also didn't have much time for the pie shell so I just crushed graham crackers and added some melted butter and sugar pressed into a pie pan. This coconut cream pie was raved about and didn't last past Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
I like a recipe that works the FIRST time. I made this pie exactly as the recipe stated and it turned out perfectly. It easily filled my pie crust to the brim, set up beautifuly and tasted great. I topped it off with my own recipe for cream: 1 cup of cold heavy cream, 3 Tbs of powdered sugar, 1 large marshmallow melted and mixed in. I garnished with toasted coconut. Even the first slice looked gorgeous when I served it. I would definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Oh my! I had never made a coconut cream pie before, and this one was definitely a success. I made it with two cups skim milk and one cup cream and it was incredibly rich. You could only eat a small sliver. Next time I will use only milk and I think it will be plenty rich and creamy, and lower fat. My recommendation is to make this the night before. Because the coconut is not cooked with the custard, the custard does not have a coconut flavor right away. While it sits overnight the coconut has a chance to re-constitute, plumping it up and infusing the pie with coconut flavor. I topped it with whipped cream and toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
Best coconut pie I have ever had. Which is saying alot sence I thought my mother in law always made the best I had tasted. It was creamie and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
What a great pie!! I admit I haven't had a slice of it yet (it's still cooling), but man the filling is wonderful! I topped it with some toasted coconut, too. The only thing I'll do differently next time is use a deep dish crust. I had a fair amount of filling left but, needless-to-say, it's already been eaten. My mom is a coconut freak & she already gave it a thumbs-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moondusted

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Strawberry Plains, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States