Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Decent, but far too sweet for my tastes. I think that I would use 3/4 or even 1/2 of the sugar next time. I bumped the coconut content up to 1 1/2 cups (following other reviews), but that ended up being a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
never made a coconut cream pie before, but it's my fav. turned out great! amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I did make a few changes based on the reviews that I read. I used a can of coconut milk and whole milk. I also used the corn starch instead of flour. I followed the recipe otherwise. I made it last night, and tasted the filling which was super yum even hot, and let it set in the fridge over night. I will serve it for Easter dinner tonight. It is definitely set up `and nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Great recipe . The only change I made for a little more sweetness was an additional tablespoon of sugar and a 1/2 tsp. of vanilla . Yummy and so easy , not sure why some had problems with the filling setting up , I had no problem but after it came to a boil I let it boil about 1 more minute while stirring continuously .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Custard is delicious but it was still runny after being refrigerated over night for 6 hours. The only changes I made to the recipe were I added one cup of coconut milk in place of one cup of milk and I used 1/3 cup of cornstarch instead of flour as suggested by previous reviews. I will try more cornstarch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Never made it or had it. My 9 year old decided we should make it. Seemed easy and it was! Incredibly delicious. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This didn't set up for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth McCall

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Excellent pie! I'm not a fan of "too much" coconut taste, so this is perfect: the taste is delicate and the pie is delectable. Two things: I used only 3/4 cups of sugar, and I didn't strain the mixture. I didn't see the need. It was creamy and smooth from the beginning, and thickened up in no time at all. I'm a great fan of the double-boiler method, though, so perhaps this is the difference. As another reviewer noted, if you don't have a double boiler, just use a metal mixing bowl over a pot of simmering water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Easy and delicious. To ramp up the coconut flavor, I used a can of coconut milk in place of two cups of the milk, and soy milk for the rest. The pie isn't pretty, so I whipped a small container of Richs Whip and spread it over the pie. That left it pretty and added a great creaminess. The whole family liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
2nd best coconut cream pie i have ever had, Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Hurtt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States