Coconut Cream Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
re: cookingmama's review on 11/10/03, this recipe IS a cream pie because the ingredients are placed in a precooked shell. While the ingredients may lean towrds that of a custard, the method is what defines it as a cream pie and not custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Excellent. Rich, creamy, not too sweet. I followed it exactly. Next time, and there will be a next time, I will use 1/2 vanilla & 1/2 coconut extract, and toast the coconut for the top. I may consider using a bit more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeggyM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Verena
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Excellent and super easy pie!! I love this recipe and will add it to my recipe box. I added a half of teaspoon of coconut extract to the filling because I had it on hand and figured, 'why not'!! Make sure not to rush the process and keep stirring the custard the entire time. I used the Stabalized whipped cream recipe from this site for the topping and I would recommend that because you don't want a runny topping. Love it, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I thought this recipe was too eggy and too much vanilla. The texture was not as creamy as I was hoping for. It was slightly gelatinous .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Absalutly loved it!!! I only added a bit more cornstarrch, other than that nothing. Good Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I made this for my husband on Valentine's Day and he said it was great. To me that is a 5 star rating. Next time I think I will add more coconut though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Not a coconut fan myself but was asked to make this for friends birthday, he absolutly loved it and requested i make for any occasion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was a pretty good coconut cream pie recipe. I followed the recipe as it was written with the exception of two things: putting toasted coconut on top, and adding a little bit of water to the cornstarch (then thoroughly mixing the cornstarch and water together to prevent lumps from forming). There are a few things that I would change to make this recipe a 5 star recipe: -Use twice as much cornstarch -Use twice as much coconut inside of the pie to give the pie a better coconut flavor. -Cut the Vanilla down to two teaspoons. In my opinion, four teaspoons gave the pie too much vanilla flavor. -Put between one and two cups of toasted coconut on top of the whipped cream. The toasted coconut on the top makes the pie complete. Again, I think that this is a good pie without those changes, but it would be a spectacular pie with those changes. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naxxramas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Excellent. You have to stir and cook a long time but well worth the effort. It is also good and pretty with a meringue topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise
Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I'd read other reviews about the pie not setting up properly, so I increased the cornstarch to 1/3 cup. The filling set up beautifully, and was creamy and quite good. I spread a layer of chocolate chips over the bottom of my pie crust while still hot, and then put the coconut filling over that. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States