Coconut Cream Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
This is a great coconut CUSTARD pie....but maybe I am missing something.....but a Coconut CREAM pie is different. We enjoyed this, but I was looking for the cream pie, not the custard. Just an fyi.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebring, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was a pretty good coconut cream pie recipe. I followed the recipe as it was written with the exception of two things: putting toasted coconut on top, and adding a little bit of water to the cornstarch (then thoroughly mixing the cornstarch and water together to prevent lumps from forming). There are a few things that I would change to make this recipe a 5 star recipe: -Use twice as much cornstarch -Use twice as much coconut inside of the pie to give the pie a better coconut flavor. -Cut the Vanilla down to two teaspoons. In my opinion, four teaspoons gave the pie too much vanilla flavor. -Put between one and two cups of toasted coconut on top of the whipped cream. The toasted coconut on the top makes the pie complete. Again, I think that this is a good pie without those changes, but it would be a spectacular pie with those changes. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naxxramas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
This pie was wonderful. I asked my husband to rate it on a scale of 1 to 10 and he gave it a 10. He's very picky and said this pie tastes just like any bakery. I didn't change a thing to the recipe but do make sure you have a deep dish pie crust because my filling filled the entire crust. A keeper recipe in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Coconut Cream Pie is my husband's favorite pie, and he's so particular about it that he would only eat it at a restaurant we went to. Since I have found this recipe he has been ecstatic because he now can enjoy his favorite pie at home! It turned out great and was delicious!!! A keeper! I used the French Pastry Pie Crust and just halved the recipe, so I only had one pie crust. A fabulous combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
My Husband and I loved this rich pie, we've made it twice already. Delicious and super easy. We toasted the coconut in the oven and added extra to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was my first shot at home made coconut cream pie. The recipe was easy and the pie was delicious!! I will never buy a frozen pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muscatine, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I made this with 2% milk not too sure if that was the issue or not,was a tasty I will say that I also used coconut extract instead of vanilla which made it better.I had t put it in the freezer to form it so I could cut it.Next time I will put more corn starch in it to see if that helps with the firmness of it. I will try one more time to make this pie. If you want a pudding though it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy in Georgia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
My husband's birthday was the same day that we were hosting our couple's card group and he requested a pie rather than a birthday cake so I made this. Everyone raved about it. It's definitely a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was my first time making a coconut cream pie. I followed the recipe as it was written and it was FANTASTIC! My family loved it. I am making three more this evening, one for my family and two for a church dinner. I am going to try and add meringue on these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I followed this recipe ALMOST exactly to the letter. I thought 4 tsp of vanilla sounded like an awful lot, and after reading some other reviews of how it tasted very vanilla-y and not so coconutty I changed it to 2 tsp vanilla and 2 tsp coconut extract. I made sure I packed the coconut into the cup, too, plus I added meringue and toasted coconut on top. (For the meringue I used the egg whites that I separated from the 4 egg yolks called for in the recipe and I added it before I started to cool the pie.) This pie wasn't runny at all. I think the trick is to make sure it's completely cold before you cut it, so I would recommend refrigerating it overnight before you serve it. It turned out great! I took it to church for a potluck yesterday, and one of the ladies there (who has to be in her 80's) said it was the best coconut pie she'd had since her mother passed away. I took that as a very high compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States