Coconut Cream Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is the best dessert I have ever made, hands down. I followed a few suggestions others made and doubled the corn starch and coconut in the filling and then added whipped cream and toasted coconut to the top. I also skipped the traditional pie crust and made a graham cracker crust instead - this was AMAING!!!! Everyone I fed it to loved it and it will be my new "go to" dessert. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This Coconut Cream Pie was more like custard than cream but it was fantastic to say the least. Only thing I changed was one extra tbls corn starch. I made it twice in one week, both times it was devoured. Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamstown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was fabulous and VERY EASY to make!! My husband approves as this is his favorite type of pie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I followed this recipe ALMOST exactly to the letter. I thought 4 tsp of vanilla sounded like an awful lot, and after reading some other reviews of how it tasted very vanilla-y and not so coconutty I changed it to 2 tsp vanilla and 2 tsp coconut extract. I made sure I packed the coconut into the cup, too, plus I added meringue and toasted coconut on top. (For the meringue I used the egg whites that I separated from the 4 egg yolks called for in the recipe and I added it before I started to cool the pie.) This pie wasn't runny at all. I think the trick is to make sure it's completely cold before you cut it, so I would recommend refrigerating it overnight before you serve it. It turned out great! I took it to church for a potluck yesterday, and one of the ladies there (who has to be in her 80's) said it was the best coconut pie she'd had since her mother passed away. I took that as a very high compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This is VERY sweet! Still good, but a little too sweet for my taste. Next time i will cut down on the vanilla and add a little more coconut. I also toasted some coconut and sprinkled it on top for a little more coconut flavor. I will definitely use this recipe again, just without so much vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I had to make changes to this in order for it to have a better flavor: I did NOT add any salt, used 2 cups coconut cream and 1 cup milk, used 1.5 teaspoons coconut extract and 1.5 teaspoons vanilla, added in 1 extra cup of coconut, and used 2 extra tablespoons of cornstarch. With these changes, my pie came out wonderfully flavored and creamy yet stable enough to slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilverNBlack

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
My family loves this pie! I exchanged part of the milk with a can of cocunut milk and made up the difference with 2%. I also use 2 extra tbls of cornstarch, with toasted coconut on top of whip cream topping...I never have any left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I have to start out by saying that this really is a 5-star recipe. I know this because my daughter made this pie first. In fact, within 2 weeks she made 4 pies. All of them were consistently perfect. I think the problem lies in my preparation of this recipe. I'm lost as to where I made my mistake. My pies tasted great but were much too thin, even after several hours of refrigeration. So, don't be afraid of trying this recipe. If it turns out right it is well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pramsey909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria Caylor
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I have to start out by saying that this really is a 5-star recipe. I know this because my daughter made this pie first. In fact, within 2 weeks she made 4 pies. All of them were consistently perfect. I think the problem lies in my preparation of this recipe. I'm lost as to where I made my mistake. My pies tasted great but were much too thin, even after several hours of refrigeration. So, don't be afraid of trying this recipe. If it turns out right it is well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Caylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Photo by ChillyBaker
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
As per one of the other reviews, I made the pie as directed, but only used 2 tsp. of vanilla and increased the amount of coconut to 2c. To get the right thickness I used 1/4 c. + 1/8 c. + 1 Tbsp. of corn starch. I also made a simple meringue to go on top instead of using the whipped cream. The pie was simply delicious. Creamy, yet flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChillyBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States