Coconut Cream Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Brooke
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Yummy!! This pie is great! I'm particularly happy with it because it's not loaded with sugar and it doesn't leave an unpleasant taste in your mouth. It's very nice. I did make a few changes according to other's suggestions. I only used 2 tsp of vanilla and I did add a bit more coconut. I used the egg whites to top the pie with meringue ("good meringue" recipe off of this site, but with only ~1/4 cup of sugar) and it turned out wonderfully! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I made this last year for Christmas, and I will be making it again this year. I got a lot of compliments on this one. Yes, it is more like a custard, but it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I made this pie following the suggestions made by "Naxxramas"....you had good ideas! This pie was turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is some good stuff... I used about a cup of coconut milk and 2 of regular... and also less butter because coconut milk has a decent amount of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was great! I loved this pie. There were just a couple of things I did differently. As suggested by another reviewer I doubled the amount of cornstarch and coconut in the pie. I also used only 1/2 the vanilla, although I don't think that change made much of a difference. Because I like chocolate, I used a chocolate crust and drizzled melted chocolate over the cool whip and toasted coconut. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
that looks really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
WOW what a HIT!, The only thing I changes was I put 2 cups of coconut in the pie filling and whipped up real whip cream for the topping and added baked coconut ! it is NOW my babygirls all time request for dessert! five stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffhammmanagement

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
For my first cream pie ever, this was a big success! It couldn't have been easier to make, and the flavor was excellent. My only point of contention was with the shredded coconut throughout the custard -- I wasn't a big fan of the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Very good. Reminds me of the one I use to bake (lost the recipe). I did decrease the vanilla and added a bit more coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanie60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Being my first attempt to make a Coconut Cream Pie, I took some reviewers' tips and decreased the vanilla to 2 t. and increased the coconut to 1 2/3 c. Results were delicious! Since I don't know the secret to a great meringue (weeping problem), I opted for whipped cream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States