Coconut Cream Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by C . Hanshaw
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This is the second time I've used this recipe. The first time, I agree with others that the recipe called for too much milk and it didn't set. This time, I realized once I had my crust made and all my ingredients out (I made a quick graham cracker crust instead of using a traditional crust) that I didn't have any milk, so I substituted 2 cups of water for 2 cups milk for the custard and added extra cornstarch, Starting with just a little and working up to about a tablespoon extra. It doesn't appear to have affected the final consistency. With some tweaking this recipe is great. Coconut meringue is my husband's favorite and my get out of jail free card, and this recipe is easier than others I've used while still tasting like it took hours to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This is similar to what I have done for years but instead of mile I use Half and Half.. My family begs me to make this several times a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I had setting issues with this recipe also so I cut down the milk to a little more than 2 cups in the saucepan and 1 cup in the yolk mixture. I sold the pie to a restaurant and the customers loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Hymers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I had a problem with it setting also so other than that the taste was really good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chivas_81

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Very tasty recipe, but did not set. I altered the recipe by cutting the sugar to 1.5 cups and used 1.5 cups of milk and 1.5 cups of coconut milk, therefore, cutting the liquid down to a total of 3 cups instead of four. There is still not enough cornstarch in the this recipe to make the pie set. I ended up with a delicious coconut cream soup instead of a pie with a custard filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
THE GREASTEST I make it in the mirco wave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
I just tried this recipe for the first time. I'm not sure whether it will set up or not. One reason is the recipe call for one pie. I had enough for two pies. The pie is cooling now. If it doesn't set up, I will let you know. It look like a great recipe, and taste great. Thanks, Joe Woodard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
The only time I had a problem with this setting was when it was humid outside. Cutting down on the sugar by half makes it less rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Noel Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2000
DID NOT SET! I followed the directions to a "t", even thickening the custard more than recommended . . . I ended up with a nice crust, great meringue and coconut soup inside. I suspect that the recipe needs only 3 cups TOTAL of milk. Using the suggested amount is too much for the amount of cornstarch, sugar and egg to handle. Also, the filling is REALLY sweet. I think it needs about half to three-quarters of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States