Coconut Cream Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
This pie was awesome. For those who had trouble with it setting up, you MUST bring cream pies to a full bubbling boil. This one said for 1 minute and, after adding yolks, cook 30 seconds longer. My office loved it. My family will also love it at the next get-together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
We have been searching the country over for a good coconut pie recipe to use in our restaurant. My husband is VERY picky.... After many mishaps, we stumbled across this one. It has come out perfect every time (except when I did not let it get to a good boil as recommended). It sells out immediately each time I make some for the restaurant - our most popular pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
I have several diabetics in my family, so I have made this recipie with Spenda* Sweetener. It gets rave reviews. (The last time my relatives were in, they ate the leftover pie for breakfast.) If you do this, you may want to add a tad more cornstarch, because the non-sugar changes the consistency a little. One note though: If you like a full pie, you may want to double (or 1 1/2 times) the recipie, I find that the regular recipie is a little scant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
It's a great recipe, but please cook it longer than instructed. I have a digital timer I use and one minute is too short to cook it after it's boiling. Do 2-3 min and 1-2 min after having the egg yolks. Also, I cooled the base overnight(or min 2hrs) before doing my egg topping. I covered the egg whites and whipped them the next day. Additionally, please use an electric mixer on high to make the egg topping. It will take at least 8-10 min of beating. My client was thoroughly pleased. His pie was my second run-through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Take2Bake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Excellent. Just make sure that you boil it for an extra 30 seconds, return it to the heat after putting in the coconut and butter, and allow the pie to cool fully (in the fridge) after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I followed directions and it turned out perfect. I don't use meringue for the top, I always use unsweetened heavy whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Ridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
I made this recipe twice thinking the first failure was my fault... WRONG! This pie doesn't set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I really really wanted this to turn out. It's my husband's favoriate pie and I followed it to the tee and it turned out runny! I don't think it was the recipe... i'm sure it was me. He said it tasted like it was supposed to, u just had to eat it with a spoon, and the topping was horrible! I just need step by step directions with mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
Recipe was delicious and one of the prettiest pies I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I Have never made or tasted a cocoanut pie, I made it for husband’s birthday, he LOVED it, the filling set up well, for those who had a problem with the filling, just cook it longer until it thickens, you can’t go wrong with ¼ cup of corn starch and 2 cups milk ratio. If I had to change something next time, that I would increase the amount of meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States