Coconut Cream Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This is THE most fabulous old-fashioned coconut cream meringue pie! This is my husband's favorite pie and I make it for special occasions. It's not easy, but well worth the effort. I agree with the other raters who say to be patient and cook slowly. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELAMCKEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
As far as taste, this was excellent. However, the filling turned into soup after it was baked. And yes, I followed all the tips about cooking longer, and chilled it for over 2 hours before baking. I used the 'never fail' meringue recipe from this site, and that part turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Pie was good, but not for a novice. I have had much better luck and better reviews with coconut cream pudding for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Excellent. Just make sure that you boil it for an extra 30 seconds, return it to the heat after putting in the coconut and butter, and allow the pie to cool fully (in the fridge) after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Coconut cream pie is my husband's favorite and he always begs for me to make him one. In the past, every recipe I tried failed. This one was perfect. I do let it boil a little longer than one minute in the beginning just to make sure it's thick enough. The consistancy and taste are wonderful. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
very good. pretty close to the same recipe you would find in the betty crocker or better homes and gardens cookbook. try not to get impatient and turn the heat too high...it's really easy to burn especially if you don't constantly stir until thick. overall i'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
My husband said this was the best coconut pie he has ever tasted. The pie turned out so pretty- the only thing is I use the "never fail meringue" on this site (its the best). I will definately make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RN4HEARTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quinton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
Thank you Jane I have been searching for a coconut cream pie recipe for a long time.I have tried others but my husband just loved this one.It will remain in my recipe box forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
Stop right here! This is the classic pie you are looking for. Just remember to take a tablespoon of the 1 cup coconut to set aside and sprinkle on the meringue. Thanks, Jane--my family LOVED this, and it will be a regular dessert in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
i have to give you all you deserve i made this pie for someone and they said it was the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States