Coconut Cream Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Joanna
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
It was delicious, but a little runny, but that's probably because I didn't refrigerate it long enough. It was very sweet and sugary, I think next time I will substitute splenda so it's not as sweet, I'm not too big on sugary sweet tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This was an excellent recipe! Theres room to improvise as you see fit, but you dont't HAVE to. It is excellent just as is. I like that in a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I made this pie for my Dad's birthday, he LOVES coconut cream Pie. I don't think of myself as a great pie baker because my Mom makes GREAT pies. After my Dad tried the pie I made he gave me one of the biggest complements ever - He said that my mom needed to get my recipe. I had no proplems with this recipe although I did use the Never-Ever-Fail Meringue recipe with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was runny even when I cooked it for 5 minutes longer and added an extra tbsp of cornstarch. i did NOT like this pie. it was way WAY too sweet. However, my family does not like meringue so i topped it with whipped topping instead. That may have been the problem. Do not make this pie with whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This pie did not set at all!!! I followed the directions exactly and even followed other reviewers advice to cook a bit longer so it would set. It didn't work. It has great flavor and would have been a very good pie had it set and stayed firm. I was surprised conidering the cornstartch to milk ratio. Maybe reduce the sugar a bit and increase the cornstartch????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I must have done something wrong with this because when we cut into it, it went everywhere. I am figuring it was something I did - not the recipe. But the pie still tasted fantastic. I used the never fail meringue from this site which was amazing. I want to try this recipe again to see if I can fix what I did wrong last time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I followed the advice of the reviewers and increased the boil time, but it was still a little runny. Still, my boyfriend said it was one of the best pies he's had & he's a coconut cream fanatic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Since my grandma isn't nearby to make this on Thanksgiving, I've resorted to making it myself. This is the best recipe I could find. Tastes just like grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I Have never made or tasted a cocoanut pie, I made it for husband’s birthday, he LOVED it, the filling set up well, for those who had a problem with the filling, just cook it longer until it thickens, you can’t go wrong with ¼ cup of corn starch and 2 cups milk ratio. If I had to change something next time, that I would increase the amount of meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
It's very sweet ,I guess I like a more subtle sweetness.I made this 3 times;The first time I cooked it a bit longer because I read the reveiws ,in which some reveiwers complained that 1 minute wasn't long enough ...that adjustment and this recipe turned out great;The Second was great.;The third I thought I would follow the recipe exactly, but in the end it seemed more dense.It did not have the smooth and creamy ,yet firm enough to stand texture that I like .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States