Coconut Cream Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I LOVE coconut cream pie, and this was the best I've ever made. I followed the advice of others and cooked it longer than the recipe says and, voila! It came out perfect. And it is just as magnificent to look at as taste. A real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond Hill, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I didn't have any milk, so used a can of unsweet coconut milk plus 2 ozs of no fat creamer...came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I made 3 of these in one evenig and all 3 turned out perfect!!!! One pie I put coolwip on insted for the people who didn't like meringue and every one loved them. I am so glad I chose this recipe because this was the first time I made coconut cream pies and they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Absolutely divine! Most of my family is lactose intolerant, so I made this with Lactaid milk and it worked extremely well. It's such a relief to finally find a recipe I can make easily while still customizing to make it lactose-free. The only problem I had was the decision to only make one pie: The fights over the leftovers were quite intense. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This pie was absolutely delicious and easy to make after reading others reviews. I made one different choice in my ingredients. I used a 15 oz can of cream de coconut from the Goya section of the grocery store and one cup of skim milk instead of the two cups of milk. Everything else I did to the word. I tried using the double boiler method but it wasn't heating up quick enough and my hand was killing me from the constant stirring so I abandoned that and just used it directly on the heat. I did follow others directions to allow a longer boiling time and it thicken beautifully! I allowed it to cool for over an hour while we ate dinner and cleaned up before putting on the meringue topping. However it didnt come out like i had hoped but still covered and stuck to the pie. Overall delicious and I am completely saving this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
It was awesome. Set up was just right if you go right with the recipe. I used a lard based pie crust and it was flaky. Definitely a hit in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blytheville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I 'almost' followed this recipe exactly....only change I made was using 4 eggs instead of 3 to allow for plenty of merangue. I took the advice of other commenters and made sure to give it more than needed cooking/stirring time. It turned out wonderfully and tastes excellent. My sole complaint is that I used/like a deep dish pie and used that pan.....and the amount of filling was really skimpy for the larger pan size. Either increase everything by half or use a regular pie pan, not a deep dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustoffmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntingdon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe did not work for me. It tasted good but did not set up. Maybe it was the meringue - had trouble getting that to the consistency it needed to be. Although it looked good, the pie actually got more liquidy after putting the meringue topping on. I'm rating it a 4 because the taste was good and it probably was my method. Will try again and come back and adjust rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Beautiful to look at and delicious. It set up perfectly but needs to be kept at a rolling boil for a few minutes both before and after the yolks are added. I had some extra egg whites so I used 5 to make the meringue and this was just enough. Beat the meringue at high speed for 6 minutes or so, adding the sugar 1 tbsp at a time. Thanks, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I followed the directions exactly and it turned out perfect. Set up great and sliced even better. Just like my Mother's. I have made this 4 times and never failed. I even changed out the coconut for a can of drained pineapple tidbits in one of the pies and it was great! I think you could use this recipe to make just about any flavor pie you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott D Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States