Coconut Cream Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Comes out perfect every time! Sometimes I substitute coconut milk for regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I made this using coconut milk from a carton and fresh coconut that I ground in the food processor. I used about 1 1/4 cups of coconut, and used ginger and cinnamon instead of nutmeg, since I don't like nutmeg. It needed to be cooked about 20 minutes more than the recipe stated. Also, I would call this custard rather than a cream pie. If I make it again, I will reduce the sugar, as I found it a little too sweet. Overall it was good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was a great and easy recipe! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Had no problem with consistency like some of the other reviewers mentioned. However, I wouldn't categorize this as a cream pie. It is closer to a custard pie. I also agree that the coconut flavor was also not very strong. It is a tasty pie- but not what I would expect considering it is called a coconut custard pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
The pie turned out to a decent consistency but the flavour was not great - very eggy. I also had to leave it in for about 15 extra minutes, which resulted in the crust getting a bit burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Like some of the other reviewers, I found this did not work out. I don't know if I am just to inexperienced a cook and the directions were to vague or if I did something else incorrectly, but the end result was a funky consistancy and I had to cook it an additional 20 minutes to get it to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave's wife
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I think this is an execellent recipe. I made the recipe as written and it came out as perfect as any pie I have ever made. It didn't have any leftovers, and people asked for the recipe. Super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave's wife

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I thought this recipe was very good! I omitted the nutmeg and topped it with a light and fluffy meringue before topping it with toasted coconut. Delish! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I added 1/2 box of chocolate pudding, omitted the spice and will toast the coconut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I altered the recipe just a tad. I added about a 1/2 box vanilla pudding the smaller box. Also once cooled i topped with cool whip & toasted coconuts. This recipe is a hit. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States