Coconut Cream Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Comes out perfect every time! Sometimes I substitute coconut milk for regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Faith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I made this using coconut milk from a carton and fresh coconut that I ground in the food processor. I used about 1 1/4 cups of coconut, and used ginger and cinnamon instead of nutmeg, since I don't like nutmeg. It needed to be cooked about 20 minutes more than the recipe stated. Also, I would call this custard rather than a cream pie. If I make it again, I will reduce the sugar, as I found it a little too sweet. Overall it was good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was a great and easy recipe! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Had no problem with consistency like some of the other reviewers mentioned. However, I wouldn't categorize this as a cream pie. It is closer to a custard pie. I also agree that the coconut flavor was also not very strong. It is a tasty pie- but not what I would expect considering it is called a coconut custard pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
The pie turned out to a decent consistency but the flavour was not great - very eggy. I also had to leave it in for about 15 extra minutes, which resulted in the crust getting a bit burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Like some of the other reviewers, I found this did not work out. I don't know if I am just to inexperienced a cook and the directions were to vague or if I did something else incorrectly, but the end result was a funky consistancy and I had to cook it an additional 20 minutes to get it to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave's wife
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I think this is an execellent recipe. I made the recipe as written and it came out as perfect as any pie I have ever made. It didn't have any leftovers, and people asked for the recipe. Super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave's wife

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I thought this recipe was very good! I omitted the nutmeg and topped it with a light and fluffy meringue before topping it with toasted coconut. Delish! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I added 1/2 box of chocolate pudding, omitted the spice and will toast the coconut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I altered the recipe just a tad. I added about a 1/2 box vanilla pudding the smaller box. Also once cooled i topped with cool whip & toasted coconuts. This recipe is a hit. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States