Coconut Cream Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I was skeptical about the use of coconut milk in this recipe since I thought it would be a little heavy, but it added a nice rich mouth feel to the filling. I will say that I did not use the 1/2 and 1/2, I used 2% milk because that it what I had on hand. It worked perfectly. I think that using the 1/2 and 1/2 would have made the filling too rich (if there is such a thing) because it was plenty rich as it was. Also, for me, it works better to blend the cornstarch, sugar and salt together in the sauce pan, add the beaten eggs and incorporate them and then add the liquids a portion at a time. This ensure that all the cornstarch and egg gets incorporated into a smooth mixture before you begin cooking it. My tasters LOVED this recipe and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This was very easy to make, taste was good, but not great. Firmed up beautifully, was thick and creamy. I think the cornstarch gave it a slightly "off" taste. Made it exactly as written...Will make again, though with some slight preferential alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Svega97

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This Coconut cream pie recipe is so delicious. I did as the first review suggested and blended the cornstarch, sugar and salt together in a saucepan. Then I added the beaten eggs and gradually poured in the milk. I did use 1/3 cup cornstarch and I used 2 and 1/2 cups of 2 % milk and only a 1/2 cup of half & half. Those were the only changes I made from the original recipe. My husband always loved his mother's coconut pie as we all did. No one in his family had her recipe. My husband says this recipe comes close. He thought his Mom used fresh cream after they milked the cows and it was of course much richer. Many thanks for sharing this goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made this for a church meal today. WOW!! It was a hit. Had trouble finding coconut milk, so used Silk coconut milk with 1/2 1/2. I wanted to get 30 pieces, So I made this in an XL cake pan. I used refrigerated Pillsbury pie dough, customizing it to the pan -- worked great. Meringue was more like a frosting, but was delicious. I called it Coconut Pie in a Pan. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Awesome recipe! I used fat free half and half (yes, there is such a thing) and it made the custard just the right consistency. And I used 3 egg yolks since I would need 3 whites for the meringue. It didn't take nearly 30 mins to cook the custard but I won't argue with the cook because she shared a true winner of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swillner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I rarely make pies, especially creme pies, but the hub begged for a homemade coconut creme. I found this recipe and followed it as per the recipe. My hub absolutely loved it as did I! This is very rich but sooo good! Hub rarely gets "possessive" of deserts I make but has claimed this pie belongs to him! LOL! Too bad! I still snuck in a piece! Definitely will keep this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
My family really loved this recipe. The custard didn't take anywhere near 30 min.to thicken. Overall it's a great and quick recipe. I will make it again soon. I topped it with whipped cream instead of the meringue (personal preference) and toasted some additional coconut in the oven to sprinkle on top of the whipped cream. Excellent recipe that my husband thinks can't be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Excellent texture and taste! For me it tasted like a combination of coconut and bananas! One thing I would do different next time is begin whipping the eggs at the same time I begin stirring the custard because the eggs took 30 minutes to whip whereas the custard only took 15 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States