Coconut-Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
AMAZING RECIPE! Since I didn't have any coconut flavoring, I used some extra shredded coconut. Absolutely delicious! I use this on many cakes - carrot, white, yellow, coconut cake, coconut pound cake - everybody loves it! If you are looking for an all around good frosting that can be used on many cakes, this is the one! It is FABULOUS! You must try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Forget the store-bought frostings! This is so easy to make and soooo yummy! I didn't have any coconut extract, but I did use coconut cream instead of heavy cream. Absolutely wonderful. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I was charged with making a birthday cake for my sister-in-law this year for her 23rd. I've always been desperate to win over my in-laws, and this DID IT! The frosting was phenomenal! My husband's many siblings loved it, so much so that when I turned around to let the dog out they dove into the bowl and ate all of the extra in 3 minutes. If you ever need to impress, this is the frosting to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Incredibily good! I made this to go on my daughter's 12 year birthday cake and all of the girls at the party went nuts on the icing and even ate the leftovers! I didn't add the coconut or the coconut flavouring (since I made the mistake of asking the girls' opinion on coconut) and upped the vanilla extract to 1-1/2 tsp. and it was still fantastic. One thing, this makes enough frosting for two cakes and still have leftovers for cupcakes. If making 1 cake, half the recipe...there will be plenty for a layer and the exterior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Perfect taste but doesn't hold it's shape well enough to pipe onto cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
When I started this recipe I thought I had coconut. I fallowed this recipe except for the flavoring and coconut I tested it with Blackwalnut and Almond extract both were good . I went with the Blackwalnut. I felt 6 instead of 60+ licked the bowl and beaters clean. My husbands favotite carrot cake was a huge success. FYI, don't rush out for coconut flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I tried this recipe before anyone else reviewed it, and I'm glad I took the risk! This frosting was absolutely delicious! The coconut flavor was not overwhelming, but it was definitely there. I used it to frost a guava-pineapple cake, and it didn't take away from the fruity flavors. I also tasted the frosting at every step of the recipe. Without the coconut or vanilla, it makes a great cream cheese base frosting, and with vanilla alone it's a very tasty vanilla frosting. The consistency is also great (I ended up adding about double the amount of cream) and it is just like store-bought frosting...but better! My family and neighbors loved it. I will definitely be using this recipe, or at least part of it, again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
My husband and I really like this! I added about a teaspoon of rum in place of the coconut and vanilla extracts and added only enough milk (in place of the cream) to make it the desired consistency. I agree with others who feel it was not too sweet. Definitely a keeper and thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Amazing! I've made this a few different times for cakes, cupcakes and a carrot cake. It's delicious and is always a huge hit! I've done several variations on it as well with and without the coconut and it's always good. When I include the coconut I usually double or triple the amount of flaked coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This recipe is amazing. The frosting adds just the right amount of sweetness to a carrot cake. I did not add coconut flavoring, but the shredded and toasted coconut gave it enough of a kick. This recipe made enough for me to frost a layer cake, with about a cup left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States