Coconut-Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I tried this recipe before anyone else reviewed it, and I'm glad I took the risk! This frosting was absolutely delicious! The coconut flavor was not overwhelming, but it was definitely there. I used it to frost a guava-pineapple cake, and it didn't take away from the fruity flavors. I also tasted the frosting at every step of the recipe. Without the coconut or vanilla, it makes a great cream cheese base frosting, and with vanilla alone it's a very tasty vanilla frosting. The consistency is also great (I ended up adding about double the amount of cream) and it is just like store-bought frosting...but better! My family and neighbors loved it. I will definitely be using this recipe, or at least part of it, again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
When I started this recipe I thought I had coconut. I fallowed this recipe except for the flavoring and coconut I tested it with Blackwalnut and Almond extract both were good . I went with the Blackwalnut. I felt 6 instead of 60+ licked the bowl and beaters clean. My husbands favotite carrot cake was a huge success. FYI, don't rush out for coconut flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Amazing! I've made this a few different times for cakes, cupcakes and a carrot cake. It's delicious and is always a huge hit! I've done several variations on it as well with and without the coconut and it's always good. When I include the coconut I usually double or triple the amount of flaked coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I don't make homemade frostings very often but this one was easy and delicious. I added chopped, toasted pecans to match my cake. (I used it on a Sweet Potato cake.) Very sweet, next time I'll use less powdered sugar. This recipe makes a lot, no need to double for 3 layer cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This is a great recipe! I didn't have any heavy cream on hand so I used milk instead and it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I was charged with making a birthday cake for my sister-in-law this year for her 23rd. I've always been desperate to win over my in-laws, and this DID IT! The frosting was phenomenal! My husband's many siblings loved it, so much so that when I turned around to let the dog out they dove into the bowl and ate all of the extra in 3 minutes. If you ever need to impress, this is the frosting to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I used this as an icing for carrot cake (which also had dessicated coconut). I didn't have heavy cream, so I just used half-and-half. I also used 3.75 cups confectioner's sugar (again, all I had in the house) and it still tasted super-sweet. My opinion is that you should either use this to frost a less-sweet cake or taste as you add the sugar-- you can probably add less if you don't have a super-sweet tooth! Anyway, I'll try to add less sugar next time since I tend to eat 1/2 of it straight out of the bowl. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Delicious! Used it on a Coconut Cake that I had my for my grandson's birthday. The cake's frosting called for a cooked white frosting and I used this one instead. It made the cake richer tasting, and everyone really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Superb !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Great recipe! I followed the directions, except used fat free half and half because I didn't have any cream. I piped the frosting onto carrot cake cupcakes. Everyone LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosanna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States