Coconut-Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
My husband and I really like this! I added about a teaspoon of rum in place of the coconut and vanilla extracts and added only enough milk (in place of the cream) to make it the desired consistency. I agree with others who feel it was not too sweet. Definitely a keeper and thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
The flavor is awesome, but even after upping the powdered sugar to 7 cups, it was still too thin...it just ran right off the sides of my 8" 2-layer cake (which had been refrigerated for 24 hours). Hmmm...I love the flavor, so Im going to experiment with this recipe to see if I can get a thicker, spreadable consistency. It would be great for a 13 x 9" cake left in the pan, though, as it would be contained in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
The coconut flavor is very subtle, which I did not mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
easy to make - didn't have any cocunut flavoring so I just used about 2 cups of coconut (did not do any toasted). Very tasty. And oddly not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This recipe is amazing. The frosting adds just the right amount of sweetness to a carrot cake. I did not add coconut flavoring, but the shredded and toasted coconut gave it enough of a kick. This recipe made enough for me to frost a layer cake, with about a cup left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I used this recipe and the suggestion of the apricot layer to frost a white layer sheet cake for my Son's 4th birthday. It was a huge hit with both the kids and the adults. It was easy and appealing to the kids, while still being something sophisticated and different from the normal kid's party fare for the adults. The coconut frosting was the perfect backdrop to the bundt train cake I put on top to boot. The only downside is that the apricot layer made the drive to the party location a rather tricky process. Looking back, some advance planning including a completely cooled cake and some well placed toothpicks were in order!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
A tasty frosting that has just the right amount of sweetness. Next time, I'd leave out the salt. The optional toasted coconut on top makes an ordinary recipe look special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This was great, but I halved the amount of powdered sugar. I also didn't need any cream to have the correct consistency with the absence of the sugar. I like being able to taste the cream cheese, and since I added all of the optional sweetened coconut, it was plenty sweet. I used this inside of a lemon sponge cake to make a jelly roll, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Perfect taste but doesn't hold it's shape well enough to pipe onto cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Easy too make, nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States