Coconut-Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This recipe is excellent - as is. I wouldn't change a thing. I used it on a white cake and it was delicious. It was so good that I ended up making two cakes in a three-day span. I didn't think the coconut extract was overpowering at all - it was the perfect ratio. Definitely toast the coconut if you have time because it gives the frosting a nice flavor. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
My husband licked the bowl and commented any cake I make for him he wants this frosting on it. I did use the coconut flavor & it was perfect. I used it frost the coconut cake mix cake on this website-so did not add shred coconut. Great reviews from co-workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethissite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Easy to make and tasty. I doubled the batch to cover 36 cupcakes, because the serving size was for 20, and I had way too much frosting left after generously frosting 36 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I was craving coconut, so decided to use this recipe to top my vanilla cupcakes. Loved it - don't skip the toasted coconut - it kicks these up a notch ( and smelled so good cooking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Used this recipe for my son's fiance's birthday dinner. She loves coconut and so does my very ill father so it made a great choice but I did not expect them to love it SOOOOOOOOOooooo much. It was a really bid hit and will go in with my favorites. Really good and simple to make. I had no coconut flavoring but it was great with just vanilla anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Decadent! I used this to frost Hummingbirg Cake I from this site. It was a bundt cake, so I cut the icing recipe in half but probably used a total of 4 tbsp. half & half instead of the heavy cream to get more of a drizzling consistency. This frosting is DELICIOUS. Try it you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This frosting would have been great if not for the salt! Take this out and would have been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlynisTM

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Harrison, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
My husband and I really like this! I added about a teaspoon of rum in place of the coconut and vanilla extracts and added only enough milk (in place of the cream) to make it the desired consistency. I agree with others who feel it was not too sweet. Definitely a keeper and thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
The flavor is awesome, but even after upping the powdered sugar to 7 cups, it was still too thin...it just ran right off the sides of my 8" 2-layer cake (which had been refrigerated for 24 hours). Hmmm...I love the flavor, so Im going to experiment with this recipe to see if I can get a thicker, spreadable consistency. It would be great for a 13 x 9" cake left in the pan, though, as it would be contained in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
The coconut flavor is very subtle, which I did not mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States