Coconut-Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I made this but didn't add the coconut extract because I didn't have any and it was still delicioius! I just sprinkled extra coconut on top and throughout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwhhScoob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Vermont, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This recipe is fantastic. Like many mentioned, I used a little less sugar. Instead of using heavy cream, I substituted the same amount of cream of coconut. I'll be completely honest - this frosting whipped up to a consistency that is very similar to that of store bought frosting. It's amazing. You could use some milk and another flavor - goodness - the millions of opportunities with this icing. This will now be my go-to recipe. It's fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Great frosting! I used about a cup extra sugar. I like it thicker and sweeter. Otherwise I followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Yummy! I used 1 tsp. coconut rum & 1 tsp vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
LOVE! I needed a simple cream cheese frosting for a red velvet cake but they are all so thick. The heavy cream thins it out just enough to make it so smooth. I just left out all the coconut ingredients and it made for the best plain cream cheese frosting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Delicious! Absolutely the best cake I have ever made. 3 cups of powdered sugar was enough sweetness for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa D
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
After trying it once, I made a few modifications to suit my own tastes. I prefer a less sweet frosting so I added a half bar more of cream cheese and a little less sugar (I eyed it and just put enough to get the consistency I was looking for to pipe them onto my cupcakes. But overall a good recipe. Everyone who I have given it to liked it. I just like mine less sweet and with a little more tanginess (hence the small changes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
this was just great. i used it on a carrot cake and it really added to it without overpowering the flavors of the cake. it was so good, though, that it would probably be delicious on anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This recipe is excellent - as is. I wouldn't change a thing. I used it on a white cake and it was delicious. It was so good that I ended up making two cakes in a three-day span. I didn't think the coconut extract was overpowering at all - it was the perfect ratio. Definitely toast the coconut if you have time because it gives the frosting a nice flavor. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States