Coconut-Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
Great recipe. However, I use only 1 2/3 cut powdered sugar and it's very sweet. I cannot imagine using 4 cups. No need for the cream. I omit it each time. I use this for carrot cake and add 3/4 cup shredded sweetened coconut. It's great with 1/8 tsp of cinnamon and cayenne pepper (ground) also. Would like to try it with a bit of lemon juice or extract. As for the runny comments, I don't see how. My guess is folks may be melting the butter or microwaving the stick which will release the oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Absolutely awesome. Very smooth and creamy without being too sweet. The only change I made I took from another reviewer of another cream cheese frosting. For those who are having trouble with the frosting being too thin, I beat the butter and powdered sugar added cream and flavor then added COLD cream cheese in small bits. My frosting came together quickly without added powdered sugar, perfect consistently. I will always use cold cream cheese from now on. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I left the coconut extract out because I think the flavor of an imitation extract would have detracted from the natural flavors of the other ingredients. Using a stand mixer with the butter at room temperature and the cream cheese still slightly cool made a thick, smooth, spreadable frosting. Frosted "Banana Cake II" from this site. Both recipes are VERY easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This is the best frosting I've ever had. My husband says he hates coconut but he liked this frosting because it wasn't too strong. I'm not sure what other reviewers did to make it runny. I am not a master chef. I can barely make box brownies. But my frosting was really thick like the stuff from the store. I made sure my cream cheese was not too soft. And my butter wasn't melted. Maybe that was the trick. Whatever it was, I hope it turns out as wonderful next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
didnt have cream or coconut essence so used coconut cream it was delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Wells

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Delicious! I used whole milk instead of cream. I just couldn't buy a container of creamer for only 2 tablespoons. Consistency was excellent. I think the salt really brings out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I like others did not have any coconut flavoring. I was mixing it up anyway for a yellow cake and when I tasted it, I thought it would be very good with chocolate. I added 6 heaping teaspoons of baking cocoa and wow, it was amazing. It tasted like chocolate cheesecake frosting...yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I'll never buy another container of frosting. EVERYONE who tastes it (on my lemon cake) raves about it and requests it, in advance, for all future gatherings. I usually substitute milk for cream and I use 1-1/2 cups of coconut instead of buying additional toasted coconut. One batch is more than enough to frost a 9x13 double layer cake. And I've never had a problem with the consistency or with it sticking to the sides the way it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was really just perfect for my Coconut Cake!!! Thank you for making my cake that much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is the best cream cheese frosting I have ever made. I hate to review when I've made changes but they were minimal and due to necessity since it's what I had on hand. I used about 1.5 T milk (not cream) and a tad more confectioner's sugar to get the right consistency. No coconut flavoring so 1.5 tsp. vanilla. No salt (had salted butter). I used it on a 9x13 cake and I thought the amount was perfect. I also toasted my coconut till brown and thought it really added to the taste. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States