Coconut Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This is a tasty, moist and tender cake. I made the recipe exactly as written other than needing to increase the baking time by 15 minutes. For me, the box cake flavor still peeks through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made this cake last night & served it today for a birthday party for my Mom. She loved it! My only changes were to the frosting: 1 tbls milk & 1 tbls coconut cream, & I added 1 tsp coconut extract as well as the vanilla. I had to add a couple of tablespoons of butter since I only had two 3oz pkgs of cream cheese. Everyone LOVED this cake & its so easy to make. It should be called, Easy coconut cake. I will be using this recipe for a long time. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
VERY GOOD CAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Easy to make, very moist and not overly sweet. I made it for an adult get together and received kudos - even from the guys. The cooking time was closer to 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibe1cent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
very moist cake... it was a hit at the party! I made them into cupcakes and topped with store bought icing with the rest of the can of coconut milk blended in and toasted coconut! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Great recipe and very easy. Super moist and the coconut taste was great. Everyone in my family loved it so much, I did not have time to frost it. They eat it like pound cake. Will do again now that summer is almost here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
delicious with a nice light texture, and super easy! i added 2 tsp of coconut extract to the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This cake tastes a bit strange. I used Pillsbury Moist White Cake, and I'm a bit disappointed with the flavor, especially after reading the wonderful reviews. Even after the sour cream and the coconut cream, I taste the boxed cake in here, I might try to make it with a different brand, as this Pillsbury has its own particular taste maybe due to the pudding already added in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This cake was good, my family absolutely loved it and could not stop eating it (including my dad who rarely eats sweets unless he thinks they are "worth it" to him). I, on the otherhand, thought it was good, but it was a bit sweet for my taste. I couldn't eat very much of it before I felt a little sick. Overall though, I'd say it was good. It was extremely moist and had a good flavor. I aslo baked it as stated in a 9 by 13 inch pan, but baked it a few minutes longer than called for. Good recipe and VERY easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie_monster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This cake does have good flavor but I didn't care for the texture. I actually found it to moist-a bit like a bread pudding. The changes I made were to add 1tsp of almond extract and about 1/2c of coconut. For the frosting I used store bought cream cheese frosting and added about 2oz of cream of coconut. Oh and this is a very sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States