Coconut Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made this cake last night & served it today for a birthday party for my Mom. She loved it! My only changes were to the frosting: 1 tbls milk & 1 tbls coconut cream, & I added 1 tsp coconut extract as well as the vanilla. I had to add a couple of tablespoons of butter since I only had two 3oz pkgs of cream cheese. Everyone LOVED this cake & its so easy to make. It should be called, Easy coconut cake. I will be using this recipe for a long time. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
VERY GOOD CAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Easy to make, very moist and not overly sweet. I made it for an adult get together and received kudos - even from the guys. The cooking time was closer to 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibe1cent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
very moist cake... it was a hit at the party! I made them into cupcakes and topped with store bought icing with the rest of the can of coconut milk blended in and toasted coconut! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Great recipe and very easy. Super moist and the coconut taste was great. Everyone in my family loved it so much, I did not have time to frost it. They eat it like pound cake. Will do again now that summer is almost here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
delicious with a nice light texture, and super easy! i added 2 tsp of coconut extract to the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This cake tastes a bit strange. I used Pillsbury Moist White Cake, and I'm a bit disappointed with the flavor, especially after reading the wonderful reviews. Even after the sour cream and the coconut cream, I taste the boxed cake in here, I might try to make it with a different brand, as this Pillsbury has its own particular taste maybe due to the pudding already added in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This cake was good, my family absolutely loved it and could not stop eating it (including my dad who rarely eats sweets unless he thinks they are "worth it" to him). I, on the otherhand, thought it was good, but it was a bit sweet for my taste. I couldn't eat very much of it before I felt a little sick. Overall though, I'd say it was good. It was extremely moist and had a good flavor. I aslo baked it as stated in a 9 by 13 inch pan, but baked it a few minutes longer than called for. Good recipe and VERY easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie_monster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This cake does have good flavor but I didn't care for the texture. I actually found it to moist-a bit like a bread pudding. The changes I made were to add 1tsp of almond extract and about 1/2c of coconut. For the frosting I used store bought cream cheese frosting and added about 2oz of cream of coconut. Oh and this is a very sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I made this cake, for a sunday dinner I was having. The cake came out great, I did change a few things about this recipe, I use 1 cup coconut milk, instead of the cream of coconut and I also had 1 tsp vanilla. In between the layers I used a mixture of 1 cup sourcream, 3 oz condensed milk, 2 tbsp sugar and 1/2 cup shredded coconut, by the way it taste really good. For the frosting I used 1 (8oz package of cream cheese), 1 stick of butter, 6 cups powder sugar, and 1 tsp vanilla. After frosting the cake I sprinkled it with shredded coconut, and added fresh strawberries to the cake. Next time I think I will add some coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TANYA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States