Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This cake was A-MAZING. I followed the instructions exactly and it came out perfectly. My brother loved his birthday cake so much, I'm going to make it for him every year! The only thing that didn't go as planned is the removal of the cake. I was trying to do a double layer but the cake was so sticky and moist (which is what makes it so good!) that I couldn't remove it from the pan. It's one of those cakes where you just cut out individual slices and go from there. I will be trying it again with a spring form pan and see how that goes. It's the best coconut cake recipe I've ever found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Amazing cake!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My whole family loved it. I used the Cool Whipped Frosting from this site and toasted the coconut flakes like suggested in other reviews. I will be making this cake for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was fantastic! I made cupcakes instead of a cake. I also used the cram of coconut not coconut milk. Combined with the condensed milk it made a very thick syrup and was a little difficult to pour over the cupcakes. I'm sure it would be easier and less messy if I'd make a cake instead. The only change I made was to add about a teaspoon of coconut extract to the whipped cream icing. I also used a combination of toasted and untoasted coconut for the topping. They are wonderfully light and refreshing. This is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
INCREDIBLY MOIST! Delicious - I had no coconut extract so I left that out. Still fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelly
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is my go to cake from now on...It was simply delicious.....If I can give more stars I will
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I make this cake all the time with everybody asking for the recipe. I follow the cake mix instructions and I don't use the sweetened condensed milk. I only use the cream of cocconut and never have too much for a 9x13 cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winn, Maine, USA
Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Delicious!!! I was very skeptical, but other reviewers were right, by day 3, this cake was unbelievable!!!! Still good on day one. Next time I will up the coconut extract to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
So good! Highly recommend this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengirl90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is so good and so moist. It tastes light and is one of those cakes that I can't stop eating until it's gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Awesome! Made this for Easter. Gone instantly! Although one thing was not clear-could not find coconut cream so I got coconut milk instead (the kind you use for Thai food) and it worked just as well and just as creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovefullofpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States