Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I made this and everyone loved it......they asked me for the recipe especially one person in our group who always has some complaint about food!! I used coconut milk because coconut cream had too many chemicals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This cake was very rich. I wish I had read that others only used half the cream or omitted the sweetened condensed milk. If I make it again, I will do that. My cake ended up kind of soggy and way too sugar-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Am I the only one but this cake is not soft at all compared to a spongy cake I am used to. I don't know what went wrong but I followed every single step which is supposed to be easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacqueline T
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Followed the recipe almost exactly...except i forgot to put the coconut extract in the batter. So, i just put it in the whipping cream instead. Not overwhelming. Definitely let the cream work it's way throughout the cake and let cool at room temperature before placing in the fridge overnight. Then, next day, place the whipping cream and decorate. I did toast the coconut flakes lightly. I find that it gives the cake some texture and a slight colour. People absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Very good. Would recommend leaving out the condensed milk. Cake was good to moist. Especially at bottom of pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boquete, Chiriquí, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This cake did not come out like I thought it would. The sweet condensed was way to much sugar that is mainly what I could taste. The coconut was not enough it tasted like white cake even after letting it sit over night in the fridge. I will not make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eyecandy88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This is a very nice and easy recipe. I did have a little trouble finding Coconut Cream - which not all stores carry - but I ended up finding it at Walmart of all places. I made this into 3 loaf pans as I was giving the cake to three different people. I mis-judged the cream/milk mixture in the first two pans and they came out overly moist, wet actually, and had less mixture for the last pan. This was actually the best - it was still very moist but more cake like. Next time, I will use less of the mixture, but I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This recipe rocks! I omitted the sweetened condensed milk and it was plenty sweet. It is moist and yummy. I added a box of coconut pudding to the cake mix and used coconut pudding in the cool whip frosting from this site. I am an accomplished baker and cook, as is my husband and he gave it two thumbs up also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
YUMMIE! Everyone so...dazzled. Made it a two layer cake like the picture. Let it cool before putting it in the refrigerator, we coconut lovers could not believer how good this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Bolin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Awesome. I did follow the other reviews to let the cake cool to room temp before pouring the cream/milk mixture over the top. I also did not use the flaked coconut. It's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States